We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hotel, great service, small bathroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Van Campen Blvd., Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Updated hotel, great service, small bathroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel felt very comfortable. Sink area outside of tiled bathroom. Also, there is only one small sink. Too small for more than one guest in the room. Nice outside courtyard and pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hello free2be2be; thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at our renovated Courtyard. We're sorry that you felt that the separate bathroom vanity wasn't large enough but we're glad you enjoyed everything else about the hotel as well as our great staff. Next time travel brings you back to Wilmington, we hope you choose to stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    108
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
82
62
26
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed there this weekend when we were in town for a soccer tournament. Frankly, I don't understand some of the criticism about this place - people, this is a Courtyard, not the Ritz! I think they did a great job renovating the rooms and the lobby area to give it a more contemporary feel... much nicer than similarly priced competitors IMHO. Check in was a breeze, rooms were nice and clean with updated electronics, everything was in working condition (incl. A/C), no weird smells etc... The only thing that bothered me were the thin walls and the large gap between the door and the frame - both of which contributed to a high noise level of people talking in their rooms and in the hallways until after midnight... which is tough when you're trying to get your young kids to sleep. But I guess that problem would have been the same in any other hotel of this category.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hello desert-boater; thank you for telling everyone about your recent stay at our renovated Courtyard property. We appreciate the honest feedback; it means a great deal to us. We're sorry about the higher than normal noise level this past weekend. When you have a hotel full of energetic soccer kids, this tends to happen. Give us another try over a non soccer weekend, you'll be very happy with the peacefullness of the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Although staying right on the beach is usually everyone's first choice, it isn't alway$ a choice many families can make. This option is a really clean and safe one. There is a pool on site. The price is right for this option

Room Tip: All rooms in this 2 story hotel seemed about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
maumeeohio, thank you for making the "right choice"...We appreciate your business and am glad you enjoyed our hotel which is convenient to both the beach and historic downtown Wilmington. Come back soon, it's going to be a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I wold like to thank Joe for helping me on the morning of May 3rd, 2012. I was in town on business and was using the computers and fax machine in the lobby and when I went to leave, I realized I couldn't find my car keys. I went up to the room and tore apart all of my luggage but couldn't find them anywhere. Joe was working the desk and found them in the computer area where I had looked before numerous times. I was getting ready to call a locksmith so Joe is my new hero. Thanks Joe!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello Jay S; We're so glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent business trip to Wilmington. Yes, Joe is the Man! Our complimentyary Business Center is great for conducting your business but not so great when you misplace your keys. :)

Next time business or pleasure brings you to beautiful Wilmington, we hope you stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

First time staying at Marriott and we loved it! The location is perfect and the room was very nice. The hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Jay was especially friendly and helpful! What a professional young man.
Can't wait to come back in a couple of weeks!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hello Happygirl374! Thank you for telling everyone how much you enjoyed our renovated hotel. Jay appreciates the kudos. We agree; he is very friendly and professional. We look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay. Jay at the front desk was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hello Lboogies; We appreciate your business. Thank you for choosing to stay at our centrally located, renovated Courtyard. We also appreciate you for recognizing the terrific customer service of our front desk associate Jay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We came to Wilmington for a couple of days while heading from Florida to Cape Cod. We got to the Courtyard w/a reservation and were greeted by Kenny---great check-in. He was professional, friendly and knowledgeable....gave us great tips about the area--sights to see, dining, directions, etc. He made a great start to our stay in the area.
Thanks, Kenny!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Hello Tom B; We're so happy that your recent stay with us was a good one. Kenny and the entire front desk staff do a great job of taking care of our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was our pleasure to earn your business. We hope to see you next winter when you head south to Florida. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach

Address: 151 Van Campen Blvd., Wilmington, NC 28403
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#8 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach has a fun, energetic decor to match our fun, energetic staff ready to make your stay perfect. FREE onsite self-parking and Wi-Fi. Now featuring The Bistro serving Starbucks drinks, fresh and healthy breakfast and dinner. Fully stocked evening lounge. Centrally located near Wrightsville Beach, ILM Airport, historic downtown Wilmington and just 1 mile from UNCW campus. Go Seahawks! It's a new stay in Wilmington, NC...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Courtyard Wilmington
Wilmington Marriott
Wilmington Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.