We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western University Inn Wilmington, NC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
New York, United States
1 review
“Best Western University Inn Wilmington, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent clean facility with great breakfast. The location is located near all that Wilmington, NC offers. Location is close to the bus depot which arrives and departs for Amtrak. Location is in walking distance of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Nancy S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent stay all-around and we're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board. We can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    53
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
48
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The interior of the hotel has been renovated. Big plus. The room I stayed in was clean, with a new flat-screen new bedding too. Breakfast was included and had some hot options that were rotated daily. Not bad at all. Coffee was always available in the waiting area and the front desk was friendly and on point.

House keeping was very polite and honored some personal requests that I had regarding my room. (I can be fussy when staying more than one or two nights at any hotel.) Location was great! Literally in the middle of everything. No matter what direction I went in, I either ran into the downtown area, shopping, or a beach. Just great for the weary traveler who does not want to drive forever to take in the sights, only to drive back 'forever' to get back to a hotel.

Bottom line: worth every penny I spent.

Room Tip: Parking in the rear of the building is less crowded and sometimes the front desk puts out fresh bake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear MissyPA71,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; we're glad to hear it was a great one! I'm happy that you enjoyed our look so much as well as the amenities we offer, as well as that our location was great for your needs. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Only stayed one night but the staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was in a great location, close to the River Front and to Wrightsville Beach. Plus, a lot of shopping very close and close to the college, which was the reason to be there, to visit family in college. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear KTF89,

We appreciate you reviewing our hotel and are delighted you had a great stay and found our staff so friendly and helpful. I hope you had a nice visit at UNC Wilmington and we can't wait to see you the next time you're in town! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We like this hotel because of it location with easy access to the highway. The rooms are nicely decorated. The TV has many stations and the sleep timer works. The in-room heaters work well and are actually quiet. The in-room WiFi works well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Deputydot,

We appreciate you reviewing our Best Western Plus and are glad you had a great stay and that our location was well-suited for your needs. Thanks for your high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visit Wilmington, NC, several times a year and enjoy staying at different hotels to see if they match the reviews. Well, my 4-day stay at this facility was wonderful! I selected it from the travel sites because of its very good rate and the pics. This hotel was taken over by a new management team a year. The whole place was totally renovated from top to bottom. The results are outstanding. The lobby is handsome and cozy and has an invigorating scent of wood and cleanliness. I was whisked through check-in and found my room to be beautifully furnished and supplied with a HD flat-screen TV, nice toiletries, a microwave and fridge. Each morning the hot breakfasts were delightful: cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, etc. with the usual boiled eggs, pancakes, juices. For meals, right next door is a big IHOP. Turn right after exiting and there are oodles of eating places: Olive Garden, McDonalds, Bojangles, etc. This hotel is right in the epicenter of all the major highways and interstates. This is a fantastic gem that totally satisfied me and made me comfortable. This is my new home away from home. Am looking forward to checking in again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear IgetaroundWilmington,

Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay and we're very happy you enjoy our brand new look. We are grateful for your high ratings across the board and are glad you liked our complimentary breakfast and other amenities so much - and are delighted we've succeeded in becoming your home away from home! Thank you again for your comments and we can't wait for your next trip.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
711 reviews 711 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked this hotel through a 3rd part but extended through Best Western for a few more nights. The property is right next door to a Costco and also an IHOP. It is right on Market street at an interchange so it is easy to get anywhere in Wilmington. We had a great walk through the old historic district with the four first churches, all chiming at noon and 5pm. We enjoyed old Wilmington and participated in the Cotton Exchanges' 37th birthday party. The beaches were gorgeous. In between all that we enjoyed our lovely king room with a large flat screen TV, ample channel choices, a microwave and Fridge. The morning breakfast lasts until 10am which is really nice and departure was not until noon. The breakfast room is quite large so there are rarely issues in finding a table and the variety of foods was greater than we have experienced elsewhere. Chevon was a lovely day manager, very helpful, as were all the staff on site. It was a delightful stop on our Eastern Seaboard journey south.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear ruthandvern,

Thank you for reviewing our Best Western Plus. We're delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area! We appreciate your kind words for our staff and hope the rest of your trip went just as well. Thanks again and we hope to see you for another visit soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent staff, nice room, great breakfast just a few miles from Wrightsville Beach and great value.The breakfast had a nice variety with biscuits, eggs, sausage, and gravy. It also had waffles, yogurt, fruit and cereal. The room had a microwave and fridge and was overall very nice. The check in and out was quick and pleasant. I would recommend and would gladly stay again when I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ramona C,

Thanks for writing about your experience at our hotel. I'm delighted you had a great stay from check-in to check-out and loved the variety of our complimentary breakfast, as well the amenities we offer. We're grateful for your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town! Thank you again for your kind words.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.