We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As another traveler noted, new ownership and management has made this one of the better places to stay in Wilmington right now. The price is right, the breakfast is good, the rooms are comfortable, and it's clean. One minor quibble, we stayed on one of the upper floors and the wireless internet was practically non-existent. I had to go to the lobby to do anything with it. Also it was very rainy while we were there and the rooms were damp with humidity. I know, welcome to the beach but it would be nice if there was a dehumidifier option.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor if you want to use the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear P-Dub56,

Thanks for your review and praise of our Best Western Plus - I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable, clean stay overall, but do apologize for the inconvenience regarding our complimentary Wi-Fi and our team will discuss your comments in order to improve our amenities. Otherwise, we're glad you liked our breakfast and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town! Thank you again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    53
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
48
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed on the third floor and everything smelled like a mixture of smoke and mold. The outlet in the bathroom was broken and overall it just seemed dirty. I had to stare at chewed up gum in the elevator for the entire stay...GROSS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the cleanest stay we can for all of our guests and apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations - our housekeeping team will promptly discuss your comments in order to improve our guest experience. If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to me at the number below. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us another opportunity on your next trip to Wilmington.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western to attend a bridge tournament nearby. We had previously been here when the hotel was managed/owned by a different company. We were delighted at the differences the new management had made. The hotel was very clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the price was reasonable. We have not stayed at a better facility in the Wilmington area and will stay here again. What a pleasant change from the previous management.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel faces a major highway so you could get some road noise. We did not find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear irsmgr,

Thank you for your review and I'm delighted that we have become your favorite accommodations in Wilmington! Providing a clean, comfortable stay for all of our guests is of course one of our biggest priorities so it's great to hear we succeeded during your visit. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next trip here!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I try to stay at Best Western hotels whenever possible, and this was one of the very nicest properties. The room was immaculately clean, even the towels were folded like on a cruise ship. Bed was comfy, and artistically made with pillows - such a nice touch. In five miles I was in historic Wilmington, and in 20 minutes to Wrightsville Beach. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Kathryn H,

We appreciate you reviewing our Best Western Plus and are very happy to read that your stay with us was one of your favorites, as well as that you found everything to be comfortable and clean. Thanks for your high ratings and we can't wait for your next stay at our hotel!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed the rooms were spotless and the front desk staff was friendly. The lobby is very clean and modern. Great location not far from anything you want to do. Your next to Walmart so if you need to pick anything
Up its right next door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear curleyc862,

Thanks for reviewing your stay at our Best Western Plus. We're happy to hear that you had a clean stay and found our location so convenient for your needs, as well as that our staff was very friendly. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you for another visit soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our family of 5 travels from central Ohio to Wilmington every year. This was our first year staying at Best Western Plus University Inn and we LOVED it! We were impressed with everything from the clean/modern room, to the incredible welcoming staff. I could go on and on. The value is unbeatable!!! This is a great place to stay!!! We look forward to staying here again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jessie R,

Thank you for taking the time to review us & I'm delighted to read that your first experience with us was a great one. We're very glad that you found you received great value for your money and had a clean, comfortable stay. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future! Thanks again for your feedback.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Chevon runs a great front office and has great employees. Sara manages a happy and friendly housekeeping staff. The hotel is fresh and new, A/C works well, beds are comfortable and great shower heads and water pressure. Breakfast is eggs, bacon, waffles, assorted breads, yogurt, cereal with a great cup of coffee. My favorite Best Western!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kristopher K,

Thanks for your review and we're flattered to hear that we're your favorite Best Western! We appreciate your kind words for our staff and are very glad that your stays have been excellent. Thank you again and we'll see you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.