We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Wilmington
WIlmington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stay at this hotel every week through my business and I wouldnt stay anywhere else in wilmington.
very nice staff especially Lauren she is very helpfull with everything and kind.
Rooms are very clean and housekeeping is fine.

Room Tip: i always prefer first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Thanks for your review and we appreciate your frequent business. I'm glad that you've had great experiences with our staff and cleanliness and will pass your kind words on to our General Manager. Thank you again and we'll see you soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    53
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
48
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Picked this motel off a list of recommended places for a car show. When we checked in they charged us $44 dollars less than the price I was originally quoted. (This without asking for a lower rate). The room was clean, comfortable and and even had a microwave in addition to the refrigerator & coffee maker. Front desk, housekeeping and all of the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was also great. The location has lots if great places to eat within walking distance. We will stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Thanks for reviewing our Best Western Plus & we are grateful to be your favorite Best Western so far! I'm pleased to read that you had a clean and comfortable stay and found our staff so friendly and helpful. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western University Inn 3 different times with multiple night visits each stay. For the price (around $79/night in August, February, and April) I find the hotel to be convenient to everything you may come to the area for (short drive to UNCW, nearby to beaches, right down the road from downtown Wilmington).

The rooms are clean and well kept, and the showers are hot. The bed is comfortable with a lot of pillows and the air conditioner gets real cold and STAYS ON which I love. I love cold rooms and hate when AC units go on and off throughout the night. The WIFI was fast and reliable which is a plus. Each morning there are different varieties of breakfast items out at the buffet to go with the standard cereals / waffle maker / breads etc.

For business, I have enjoyed my stays here because its clean and quiet and a great breakfast in the morning. However, like most Best Western's, I am disappointed in the fitness offering. For being a Plus, it would be nice to have something more than what would otherwise be a guest room. This is not a deal breaker, but I value my workouts when traveling and comparing the Plus brand to Hiltons / Starwoods / and Hyatt lower ends it would go a long way into looking at expanding the fitness offerings as a lot of hotels are doing these days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear IamDoug,

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review and we appreciate you staying with us on multiple occasions. I'm glad that you've found our location convenient and enjoyed using many of our amenities. We do appreciate your feedback regarding our fitness facilities as well and will discuss it as we look to improve our offerings - I'm a regular exerciser, too, and know how it is to try to keep a workout routine consistent! Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice clean, good breakfast, good location, good price. We will stay there when we visit Wilmington in the future. Really like the centralized location. Breakfast was good and hot. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jackie J,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay. I'm happy that you had a clean and comfortable stay and enjoyed our central location! We look forward to seeing you again when you're in Wilmington.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

In all other respects, this was still above average. Facility had all kinds of food available for you to microwave if you didn't want to go anywhere. Also have recommendations posted by previous guests. But the thing that blew me away was how nice the breakfast hostess was. We were treated like we were guests in her home. Good food, very clean, and service. Arrived in crummy weather, and check in was smooth & pleasant. Check out also easy. A good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "back" side might have more noise from the highway behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear hornbender,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found us above average in all aspects, and especially in breakfast service. Sorry the weather wasn't great while you were checking in - hopefully your next stay with us will be bright and sunny! Thanks again for the review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Absolutely had a wonderful experience here! We had just come from Florida and had stayed in probably one of the worst hotels ever, so was unsure what to expect here..Upon arrival, we were greeted by the sweetest desk clerk ever! She was very friendly and helpful! We had a smoking room, absolutely NO odor, the entire place was spotless and smelled fresh! The beds were very comfortable, the room was beautiful..It took us only a few minutes to decide to stay another night..We stayed a total of 3 nights and I never wanted to leave! Their breakfast was excellant and hot..Was never the same breakfast in the morning was always something new..That was a pleasant surprise! Everyone there was extremely friendly and accommodating..Can't wait to return, this will be the only place I'd stay! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear SonjaZ702,

Thank you for reviewing us. I'm really happy to hear that you had such a great stay and found us very clean and our staff friendly. We're also glad you enjoyed the variety of breakfast choices! Thanks again for your recommendation and we look forward to your next stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.