We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
copperhill, tn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you arrive at the property, then walk into the lobby, it is evident that this is a cut above the run of the mill, non-Plus, Best Western. Very friendly staff, very nice, clean, room, and a really comfy bed. The free breakfast is probably the best we've ever had at a Best Western. Bacon & eggs, many varieties of breads, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, plus all the other normal fare you find at hotel breakfasts. One thing this place has that we've never seen before, in addition to the tables in the breakfast area, there is a row of very nice booths, which we really liked.

Now for the mixed bag part. First problem I had was connecting to the hotel's wi-fi to use my laptop. A call to the desk didn't help, the lady was very nice, but not familiar with the available wi-fi. She did offer to call the manager and get back to me, though. After navigating through the overly complicated procedure a number of times, though, I was able to do a work-around and finally get connected. I doubt most people would have even kept trying, but I really needed to get online. Next thing, we noticed a blank wall which had obviously had a large picture hanging on it. Two brackets and a lead anchor were still in place, but no picture. I made a note to be sure and mention this at checkout in case it had been recently removed without the hotel's knowledge. Then we found that after retiring, the A/C unit's compressor had a very loud vibration when it cycled on. Got quiet when it cycled off, but often woke us as it cycled on. Again, I reported this at checkout, but am very surprised that it hadn't been fixed earlier since it had to disturb guests before us. We also noticed more noise from guests in adjacent rooms than in most hotels we've stayed at.

All in all, the good outweighed the bad, and I expect that in another room we might possibly have had a perfect stay. The outstanding breakfast made up for a lot.

Room Tip: Make sure to listen to the A/C cycling on and off before you unpack and settle in, so you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle p, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your response. I will make sure we look into the a/c issues to make sure it got fixed. Thank you for respnding and letting us know how you felt. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
33
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my fiancées stayed here for one night. We had went there to help a friend move and it was very clean and they just did a renovation. The breakfast was very good for a complentary. Well as my fiancé is eating breakfast in the bed, he sees this little tiny red bug, I just killed it and we didn't really think nothing of it. Well I looked up online what could come up for a bed bug in the first cycle, and sure enough it was. I did confront the front desk and talk with the manager on duty and she was very helpful and called the maintenance guy to come and take a look and he happen to find one. They were very concern about it and they refunded our money for the night stay. The manger told us they she had already called there pest control and he was on his way there as we were leaving! I was very pleased with how I was treated after all this and they were very respectful on everything. I know they can't control on who stays there. The bed bugs wasn't there cause it was dirty I just HONESTLY think that some one brought them in! Hope this helps with your stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Centrally located to downtown Wilmington and beaches. Good size pool. Moderately priced for beach area. Very clean and comfortable rooms and pleasant and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Check in time was very busy and due to the first room smelling of smoke and the second room not made up yet, we ended up in a third room. During all of these changes the desk agent, Lauren was very pleasant and helpful. Later in the day, I made the mistake of going out without my GPS and needed directions back to the hotel. Desk agent, Chris, was friendly and exact in giving me telephone advice for getting back. Desk people, I have found, are not always knowledgable as to directions. Housekeeping staff are also friendly and helpful. Five stars go to the two ladies taking care of the breakfast. Breakfast may be typical but it was very good. Only negative is that, unlike most hotels, there is just 2% milk which has too much fat for my liking.
Would like to see 1% or skim. The remodeled lobby and breakfast area are nice.

Beds are very comfortable. I have found this to often be the case at Best Westerns. A couple of years ago, I checked on the brand plus model number and ordered one from the mattress
companies commercial department. Have been happy ever since.

Room Tip: For an evening meal, we went to the IHOP which is next door. Perhaps 200 feet away. A good menu. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Thia hotel was very nice & the staff was really friendly. There was free wifi throughout the building (no password needed) & it was very quiet & a pleasant experience. The only disappointment was the breakfast which I expected to be much more based on the reviews...it seemed like the typical hotel breakfast to me...I ate sausage, hash browns & a boiled egg :-/

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel has been completely renovated from top to bottom, and was such a pleasant experience. The rooms and lobby are beautiful, as this hotel has gone through a total transformation.
The staff is very friendly, and made my stay even better. All the rooms have flat screens, new bedding (very comfortable), as well as a microwave and fridge. An expanded breakfast, with eggs, bacon, waffles, danishes, and a variety of other items. Room was extremely clean, and would stay there again when in Wilmington, as it was a very nice value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Location was perfect (very safe area). 10 mins from the beach and 15 mins from downtown. Stores, restaurants, movie theatres all close by. Hotel recently rennovated, has gym and outside pool. Free parking, breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, muffins, danishes, yogurt, cereal, waffles, etc) and wifi. Room was clean, spacious, large flat screen tv, llarger dorm style fridge and (older) microwave, large granite vanity in bath. The pillow top bed was awesome, pillows down filled. Doggie area in the back with doggie bags. Only problem area was checking in and out (only one person working front- took awhile). This place was so great, budget friendly and I would def stay again! Best kept secret!

Room Tip: Smoking level smells really really smokey. I'm a smoker and I could barely breath when I first w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.