We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1989 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We have just returned from our honeymoon which turned out a disaster. Today is March 3rd,2008. I did book my resevations on line however, I was on the phone with a guest services person at the same time of booking. They didn't have a clear desciption of the room that I wanted but they did show a picture. I called the hotel to ask what to book in order to get the room that I wanted. Well I was misinformed, went by the info that I was given on the phone and very upset upon arrival. My honeymoon suite was not what was shown on the internet site and I was later told by another employee that not only was that room already booked since the 8th of last month but you also had to book that particular room directly through the hotel. Needless to say after several calls to the hotel I was not told that I had to book that room directly through them. I was told that if I clicked on whirlpool/fireplace room that I was booking that room.(the one in the picture)
I was told that I would be comped a room and put into my requested room the following day. The following day I went to see the second room that they were going to move me to and that was a worse room than the one I was already in. When I went down to the front desk to tell them that it was still not the right room I was told by Brenda that since they comped my room and I was not paying for it then it shouldn't matter which room it was.
Needless to say I was livid!!. They didn't care or realize that this was my honeymoon weekend. Then the guest services person told the 800 customer service person that the room they tried to put me in was the only honeymoon suite that they had. I later spoke to another guess services person who stated the it was some type of LG room, it could not be booked on line. I would have accepted the fact that we booked the wrong room if I had not questioned the guest services person on the discription and asked her if she was sure that it was the room on line to book. She never stated to me that you couldn't book that room on line. She also stated that it was the only room they had like that but didn't tell me it was booked! If she had said it was booked that would have lead me to seek another hotel with the type of accomodations that I was seeking. After complaining to the 800 number guest services they had the general manager to call me Monday. He said that he was getting a different story from the employee and there was nothing else they could do since they comped my room and purchased us dinner. Well, I would have preferred to pay the price and get what I wanted. Do these people think that FREE makes it alright? After being spoken to in the manner in which we were spoken to on Saturday FREE couldn't possibly fix it.
Moral of this simply stated is be careful what you book even if you are speaking to one of their guest services personel because they will tell you anything to get their hotel booked. Also pictures are not what you get for your money in this hotel. Oh yeah, we were put into a suite with a fireplace and whirlpool just not what we wanted. According to the general manager we got what we booked.

  • Liked — some of the guest services people were really nice
  • Disliked — I took the time to call the hotel directly and still didn't get what I asked for
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    119
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
120
150
37
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

This hotel could be a great property with a renovation. I was excited to stay near Wrightsville on a business trip, but found the room to be undesirable. I think I slept with one eye open! Opt for the Hospital location in Wilmington until a renovation is done. Staff was very helpful!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Dingy rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandfallParkHampton, Guest Care Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2008
A little over a year ago you stayed with us and I am very disappointed that your stay was less than satisfying. I do apologize and hope that you will come back to stay with us again now that we have renovated all of our traditional rooms. Every traditional room now has new cherrywood finished furniture, granite countertops, and 32" flat screen LCD TVs. Our rooms are looking better than ever! I really hope that you will return soon and see what improvments our property has been through and the best part is we are still working on more to come. If you ever come back to town, please give me a call. Thanks and take care,
Josh Sauer
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We chose this hotel based upon Trip Advisor reviews while traveling on vacation. It was a beautiful property. We enjoyed the pool. The lobby area is very nice to relax in. There is a patio area with rocking chairs too!

  • Liked — lobby/pool area
  • Disliked — hallways did not appear to be air conditioned - uncomfortably warm.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Stayed this hotel at least 8 years ago when it was new. The hotel is still in great shape and well maintained. We've stayed at numerous Hampton Inns over the years, clearly this one is a cut above the rest. The suite we had included a kitchen, our bedroom clean and well appointed. We really slept well at this hotel, great beds and comfortable pillows.

The kitchen had enough dinnerware for 4, perfect for us, limited cookware. Clearly setup to discourage heavy cooking in the rooms. There was a fridge, dishwasher and microwave.

Breakfast was of the continental variety, the coffee was above average and hit the spot. They also had pre packaged pancakes, french toast and eggs, they were ok. All included in the stay.

Free internet in the lobby to print off boarding passes was a nice perk the day we departed and lots of ample parking.

The pool was nice and big and clean. This hotel had a bar as well.

Best of all, we liked this hotel due to it's close proximity to Wrighsville beach.

  • Liked — Location and Quality of Accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Every experience was outstanding from check-in to check-out. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area looking for a great hotel and a great price. My wife could not believe how huge the suites were and the low price we paid. Many thanks to the front desk staff for your warm welcome and sincere well wishes and goodbye. I will certainly stay here again when I visit my in-laws.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — crowded breakfast
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

We use Hampton Inn's many times during the year for our road travel plans. This Hampton is not as nice as many others we have stayed at. Rooms are plain. Interior halls need a good cleaning, very strong odor, not pleasant. Nice touch that there's a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Location is great as it's right across the street from a wonderful eating and shopping area. Had a great salad and delicous dessert at Boca's.
Starbucks is about a block down the street.
We will be travelling to Wilmington often over the next 4 years as our daughter is a new student at UNCW. Will try some other hotels before coming back here. Actually we're booked at a bed and breakfast for family weekend.
If you're looking for convenience and location than this hotel will suffice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dowdy appearance, hotel needs to refurbish it's rooms and interior hallways
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

My husband and I had a wonderful couple of nites stay at this hotel and we'll be back for a longer stay in future. The atmosphere was happy, relaxed and comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and I don't have even one bad thing to say about the room. I was so impressed I snapped some pics for this review to share with those reading this. Do check in.....you won't want to check out!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 1989 Eastwood Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#9 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the beach without the beach prices! Located 1.3 miles to Wrightsville Beach and adjacent to Summer Rest Trail if you would like to take a relaxing walk/run down to the Intracoastal Waterway.Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach-Landfall Park, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. In addition to our outstanding service, the Wilmington Hampton Inn & Suites offers a full service bar, guestrooms with LCD flat screen TV's, connecting rooms, cribs upon request, hair dryers, and irons. Laundry/valet services, guest Laundromat, fitness facility, and a large outdoor pool with gazebo bar are only a few of the amenities offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Hampton Inn And Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Hampton Inn Hotel Wilmington
Hampton Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.