We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less than decent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
1 review
“less than decent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010 via mobile

The service was horribale they had really bad additudes i had dirty towels in the bathroom and i drank milk that taste soo sour

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear paigemathew,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that our location was good for you!

I apologize that you did not have an overall good experience while you were with us. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss the review you posted of our hotel with you. Please call our hotel at (910) 392-3227 so that I may give you immediate assistance. We would love to have further details on what went wrong during your stay so that we may correct any issues that may linger and so that we can have the opportunity to set things right with you.

I hope that you will allow us to make your next trip to Wilmington a successful one, and we look forward to hosting you again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites!

Regards,

Jessica Dowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    29
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
33
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
93274
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I was very pleased with the Holiday Inn Express. The room was very clean and up to date. It was very quiet also. The free breakfast in the morning, was quite tasty with a wide variety of food choices. I definately recommend this motel to travelers who want something close by the airport and attractions. They also provide free shuttle service to the airport which was a big plus for us.
Would definately stay here again!! There are also alot of great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear calicath,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. We are so glad that we could provide so many little conveniences (i.e., complimentary airport shuttle) for you during your stay and that you found our location to be in the center of everything you desired to do while you were in Wilmington. We are proud to offer all of our services and amenities to our guests and we hope that you will always have such a great experience when you are in the Wilmington area.

Please consider returning to the area this holiday season! We are a short drive from the Mayfaire Town Center (there is a very wide variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment choices at this venue) and the city of Wilmington celebrates the holidays with a Flotilla, a parade, tours of historic homes, plenty of live entertainment at theaters, and much, much more!

Thank you again for your wonderful comments!

Regards,

Jessica Dowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I was the speaker at a recent conference. Conference room was nice, service during set up/break down, etc. was great. King room was comfortable (also had a roll away bed brought in) and breakfast was very good. Dinning room staff were alittle overwhelmed by the number of people there for the conference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear grands2travel,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We realize how much easier it makes it for those involved with an event when things go "just right" at the hotel and it certainly sounds as if we were able to make that happen for you! I'm glad that you found your accommodations comfortable and that you enjoyed our new hot breakfast bar! I offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused by our breakfast staff being overwhelmed by the volume of guests who were in the dining area.

We appreciate all of your comments and hope that we will be able to provide another superb experience for you during your next trip to Wilmington, NC!

Regards,

Jessica Dowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

First time visitors to Wilmington. When booking hotel, it seemed to be a little out of the way but found that it really is in the middle of everything we wanted to do. It's near the University, close to downtown and close to the beach. Our stay was very pleasant and the hotel staff was great. We'll stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear Lazi_boy,

Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We agree that our hotel is a nice, clean place in the middle of everything! Our staff is the gem of our property though, and I will pass your comments along to them so that they will know that our guests recognize when they are provided with such good service!

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit - both Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach are worth a look during the holiday season and we'll likely have a special deal for hotel rooms at that time!

Regards,

Jessica and the team at the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington - University Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great location near UNCW, always clean, tasteful recent renovation, clean comfortable rooms w/ great bedding, good breakfast. Staff is unfailingly polite and helpful. If Wilmington and UNCW is your destination, you need to stay HERE.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for your kind words!!! We are always happy to be able to provide a "home" for UNCW parents when they visit Wilmington! We invite you to come back and stay again as soon as you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tar Heel, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This is a great, clean, and friendly hotel for all sorts of travelers. Business or leisure! It's in a great spot, near anything in Wilmington. The staff amazed me with their kind attitudes and helpfulness. I could tell the housekeeping staff takes a lot of pride in their work. I want stay anywhere else when I venture out to Wilmington.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you noticed the pride that our housekeepers take in their work and the customer-centered service that our entire staff offers our guests. We are fortunate to have a great team here at the hotel!! I hope that you can join us again in Wilmington soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The following is a copy of our letter to the editor of Wilmington's news paper, the Star News.
Dear Editor,
Over a hundred members of the bride and groom's family recently gathered in Wilmington to attend and celebrate the Avery-Baker wedding held June 25, 2010 at Fort Fisher State Park.
Our group, deciding to continue our support of green business, selected the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites; owned, and operated by a dedicated green company.
We were all glad to come for a family gathering and spend 3 days in Wilmington but was pleasantly surprised, thanks to the comfortable Holiday Inn Express, it’s pampering staff, it's terrific free breakfast and it’s convenient location to everything. We could even walk to Wal-Mart and fabulous restaurants.
The staff was helpful in pointing out all that Wilmington had to offer and soon we felt like we were on a mini-vacation to the best and most charming beach-area we had ever visited.
Not only did we have an awesome time we learned that to visit Wilmington is to fall in love and we are looking forward to returning, again and again, to your wonderful city that has something wonderful and exciting to do for everyone in our family.
Of course, we will stay at your city's green Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.
Charlotte Truette and family

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMUC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Charlotte, thank you so much for your review of our property! We appreciate you taking the time to share a recap of your stay with us and that you supported us for our green initiatives. Our parent company, Centrex Properties, will be thrilled to know that their efforts have not gone unnoticed by consumers! We invite you and your family to return as soon as you can, and we are glad that we could provide such a wonderful mini-vacation for you.

Regards,

Jessica Dowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 150 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.