We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff was all very cheerful and always helpful. Excellent maid service! Comfortable rooms in include refrigerator and microwave... Located within walking distance to a lot and short ride to UNC, downtown and Wrightsville Beach. Breakfast was great and hot foods changed daily. The cinnamon buns are super delicious. The fitness center was convenient and the pool chairs comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ola Travels,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! I hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Wilmington.

Have a wonderful summer!
Anna Mullens

P.S. We think the Cinnamon Buns are super delicious too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    29
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
33
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staff was very attentive, took great care of our group.

Better then most Holiday Inn Express properties I have used in past.

Nothing unusual to report, they took care of everything we needed very quicky.

Manager seemed to be there and very visable always working with his team.

Team that took care of breakfast was great and for a very full hotel, very impressive as most breakfast buffets don't do well with crowds during peek hours.

Many Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear mLIZp,

I'm so glad to see you and your group enjoyed their stay with us! We love our breakfast and our breakfast staff. I hope you were able to try one of our Cinnamon Buns or at least a pancake from our pancake machine. If not you will need to on your trip back next year!

Thanks for the great review!
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. We had a king non-smoking room which was nice. Our only complaint was the bed was not that comfortable. I expected better as did my wife. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that in this review. It's location is central to UNCW, downtown, and the beach. There is a Walmart within walking distance and restaurants are all around. If you like Tai food definitely go to Indochine. It's only a few miles away and the food is awesome!

Room Tip: The road for the hotel is just as you come into Wilmington right off of I-40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Yellowman15,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm glad you found our staff so welcoming and that you were able to try one of our favorite restaurants while you were visiting! It's definitely and experience to dine at Indochine!

We hope to see you back next year once we have completed our remodel!

Best regards,
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

For a holiday weekend, this location was quite busy. However, staff and management stepped up to the plate and delivered exceptional service. All staff were friendly and helpful! It was great to see Kevin Archer, General Manager, visible and accessible around the facility. He runs a tip top operation and we will be back for another stay! Thank you to all the staff of this facility, YOU make the difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Deborah W,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff. I'm happy to learn you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us and I hope you will stay with us again next time in Wilmington!

Have a wonderful summer!
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed over the July 4th Holiday weekend. We choose the Holiday Inn because the room rate was the lowest of all the hotels in the area.
The Hotel is conveniently located mid-way between downtown Wilmington and all the beaches.
Room was clean, modern and came with a micro-fridge, that had a freezer compartment!, and microwave oven.
We had two queen beds that were nice and firm. Bedding included a choice of firm or soft pillows.
A/C worked well, bathroom was spotless.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Decent food selection for complimentary breakfast. Food that was supposed to be hot was hot. The Orange Juice actually tasted like OJ not watered down Orange drink.
Pool area is well maintained. Plenty of chairs and tables with umbrellas.
There is a BBQ stand a a small picnic area on the hotel grounds.
The hotel was a real "find" and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room on the second floor ask for one on the opposite end of the elevator and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Archerandchewy,

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write it, it is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share it with our entire staff. From the review it sounds like you were able to enjoy all aspects of our hotel, from our location to our picnic area, and that's what we love to hear!

We look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed over the 4th July Holiday weekend to visity my son and I can honestly say I have never been more pleased with a hotel stay! The staff was super friendly, accomadating and the room was spacious, clean and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was right out of the top drawer! It was fresh, a large variety and what you would expect to pay top dollar for and all complimentary with your stay. I cannot say enough about he wonderful staff and the location was central to everything in Wilmington. I will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear PeasandCarrots0919,

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend! We are happy to hear you chose to spend it with us and I'm so glad we were able to make it a great weekend with your family.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again when you come visit your son in Wilmington!

Best regards,
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for three days.The bed was so uncomfortable it squeaked everytime you moved, the sheet was too small and kept slipping off the bed.My sister spoke with management and nothing changed.There was a leaking ceiling on the 5 floor and water was being collected by trash cans.We were in Wilmington for a funeral and needless to say staying here was a huge mistake!Go any where but here this place is quite dismal! It is a shame we were even charged they couldn't pay me to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear teressajg,

I want to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention the morning you were here. We don't not take these issues lightly, they are being attended to and followed up by myself personally.

You have my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences this has caused you and your family. I hope that you will give us a try again if you are ever in Wilmington as this is not the service we strive to give our guests.

Regards,
Kevin A. Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 150 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.