We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil small town oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Big Mill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1607 Big Mill Rd., Williamston, NC 27892   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Williamston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil small town oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I'm actually writing this review on our last evening here as my husband draws our daughter a bath in the wonderful Packhouse suite where we're staying. The ambience of the house is idyllic with all the touches you'd hope for: plump down feather pillows, comfortable throws, ambient lighting for reading, a big hammock outside to swing in, fresh baked cakes and fruit every day. Just bliss. I'm sad even thinking about leaving this wonderful place tomorrow evening to head back to the big smoke of London. I hear the buzz of crickets chirping and am sitting outside this beautiful farm after taking the last breakfast tray of fresh baked breads and homemade yoghurt from Chloe. We've spent 3 nights here and could have stayed much longer. It's a quiet little town so prepare to relax and unwind with Chole's genuine hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and we've all felt totally relaxed and at home here. Not often the case with an active 1 1/2 year old in tow!!! The wi-fi connection was a little sporatic but I'm actually ashamed that I'm even concerned about that. Thanks for everything Chloe and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a wonderful place! Chloe's hospitality was exceptional, even down to putting air in our tires for us when we unexpectedly found a low tire alarm and no air at the gas stations in town. She's prepared for anything! A great cook too! I'm even recommending the inn for my son's upcoming honeymoon...

Room Tip: The Mardi Gras Suite was nicer than even expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

What can I says other than we throughly enjoyed our 1 night stay at ithe Big Mill B&B. Chloe was terrific to deal with and so knowledgable and helpful. We all enjoyed the Mardi Gras room as it was so spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast was heavenly

We'll be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just returned from an absolutely lovely weekend at Big Mill. Looking to get out of town for a few days, my husband and I booked a few days in the Corn Crib... and are so glad that we discovered this special spot.

The property is absolutely beautiful, with charming farm buildings scattered across well-maintained grounds. There are Adirondack chairs, wrought iron seating, and hammocks placed around the area-- even an intimate sitting area set up beneath a grape trellis illuminated with tiny white Christmas lights. It seems that there is a special place to talk, read, dream, and share a picnic everywhere you look.

Chloe prepares an outstanding Continental breakfast and delivers it to your room each evening. During our stay, the breakfast included some combination of fresh fruit, homemade breads, granola, jams, quiche, Greek yogurt, and a thermos of orange juice and milk. We loved the convenience of having our own miniature kitchen in the room and took advantage of it each day by preparing our own wine and cheese picnics which we enjoyed in our room and outside at night.

The Corn Crib is an intimate little hideaway and with its overstuffed chair-and-a-half, two-person countertop seating in the kitchen, and queen bed, it's absolutely perfect for the couple who loves to spend time together. We're looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed at Big Mill for three nights, and I really enjoyed my stay.The setting was very peaceful with ponds and fields.My room was spacious, and the quilts were just lovely. Thanks to the owner bringing breakfast the night before, I was able to enjoy it the next morning in my pajamas! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was the perfect weekend getaway for us. Completely relaxing! Chloe took great care of us, the food was delicious, we really liked the rooms, and the location was beautiful.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I had a rough month (my 18-year old dog died) and needed time to collect myself - so I decided to go back to nature. Big Mill B&B was a farm before it was converted to a B&B, so it was a perfect spot. Private entrance to my room (The Mule Room) and breakfast served to the room were great bonuses. I watched the evening primrose put on a nightly floor show, paddled around on the pond, and watched hummingbirds and butterflies while swinging in the oversized hammock. 3 days later and I was ready to take on the world. Thank you, Chloe!

Room Tip: All have private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1607 Big Mill Rd., Williamston, NC 27892
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williamston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Mill Bed & Breakfast sits amid acres of farmland and forest in the quiet coastal plain of eastern North Carolina about two hours from Raleigh and Norfolk. Featured as one of North Carolina's best botanical B&B's, this romantic getaway has over 200 acres to roam. Minutes from major highways- a perfect stopover to the Outer Banks. Wireless Internet, kitchens, private entrances and commanding lake views ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Mill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.