We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw's Barbecue House

Shaw's Barbecue House
202 West Boulevard, Williamston, NC 27892
252-792-5339
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Williamston
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had dinner at Shaw's Barbecue House last night. It's the sort of place where orders are taken at the counter. It's a meat and two sides kind of place - a nice alternative to fast food when people are on the road.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Our Kind of BBQ!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were staying at a local B&B and the innkeeper recommended Shaw's if we wanted "good" BBQ. I am sorry to say, that it wasn't "good" BBQ. Maybe we have never had "eastern NC BBQ" as our innkeeper told us when we returned to the B&B. First of all, the cashier had about as much personality as the wet rag she used to wipe tables down later on. NO personality!! Thank God this wasn't a sit down restaurant, because I REALLY don't like to not leave a tip.
I got a BBQ'd half chicken and I expected the BBQ sauce to be grilled into the skin - it looked like they put the BBQ sauce on the chicken right before they put it in the foam box. My husband got the pulled pork BBQ and when he opened his foam box, the look on his face was not pleasant - the pulled pork looked like a gray string floor mop lying in the foam box section. And it was tasteless, even after he tried putting BBQ sauce on it that was at the table. We did concur that the french fries were good. He said the cole slaw was horrible - tasted like just chopped cabbage and cheap mustard mixed together. I guess the next time we go to Williamston, we will take our chances on another restaurant, since it can't get much worse than Shaw's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Local BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Located in Williamston, this is a home owned business that has served the area for over 50 years with good down east North Carolina BBQ. They offer seafood and have a great breakfast.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Eastern Carolina BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Best BBQ in the area. Not far from the Holiday Inn Express Williamston where I stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southern Barbeque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

If you love the vinegar based true southern style barbeque, this is the place to go eat. Its not fancy, far from it, but the food is real southern. They also have a meat counter which has home made sausage, barbeque, etc for purchase. Best air dried sausage we've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw's Barbecue House also viewed

Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shaw's Barbecue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw's Barbecue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.