We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood plates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitchin Post Restaurant

Hitchin Post Restaurant
1981 US Highway 17, Williamston, NC
(252) 792-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 restaurants in Williamston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta
1 review
“Excellent seafood plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had broiled flounder and shrimp, very good, large portions and excellent, friendly service. Reasonable price too. Missed out on bread pudding I saw on other reviews.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    22
    6
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Come Hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

You need to be hungry and ready to enjoy great food! The salad bar is very FRESH! Must try their bread pudding!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wow! Surprised us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place, in the middle of nowhere, is terrific. We'd drive out of the way to eat there again. Get those corn nugget things. Nectar of the gods, they are!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean setting, solid down home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very clean and attractive restaurant. I got the Friday evening buffet and was pleased with the value. The food was quite good on the buffet, but rather caloric. There is a salad bar included, which makes the meal healthier. My husband orderded off the menu and enjoyed his food. The portion size was very large.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bread pudding is fabulous here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were on our way to the beach and didn't want fast food so stopped in here. Very pleasant and helpful staff. The buffet at lunch has a good selection of vegetables that were cooked from fresh and very tasty, not just heated up from a can or freezer bag. Also a couple of meat entrees. My favorite was the bread pudding which was the best I've ever had and I like to try bread pudding whenever it is available. Even went back for seconds on the bread pudding, was soooo good.
The waitress even fixed me a "go cup" of half sweet, half unsweet iced tea to go. If a restaurant knows what is meant by "half and half tea", I give it extra points.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitchin Post Restaurant also viewed

Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Hitchin Post Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitchin Post Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.