We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Winkler Street, Wilkesboro, NC 28697   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Wilkesboro
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Loved our stay here. We usually stay at HIE and this one didn't disappoint. Very helpful front desk clerk named Leah she recommended Tiptons for Dinner and it was awesome. Clean nice room. Internet ok. Nice pool. AC worked great

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
19
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I wish to express special thanks to Casey Sloan, Front Desk Manager, who goes beyond the call of duty to assure her customer's comfort while staying at the Holiday Inn Express, Wilkesboro. So very helpful, pleasant, courteous, and just a great asset to the Holiday Inn, it is our hope they appreciate the asset they have in this employee!!

The Hotel was very clean, and this compliment comes from a pretty harsh critic. The breakfast was really nice and staff most attendant.

I hope to visit again and bring friends. You will enjoy your stay here!!!
Sheila Blevins, Deputy Clerk Circuit Court

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport TN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed here only one night, however, if awards were given for cleanliness and hospitality this inn deserves one. The people at the front desk coming and going were exceptional and the room was clean as a pin. The breakfast was very good and the the seating area was very spacious and airy. Would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel is very clean and the staff are super nice. We stayed only one night but everything was great. The breakfast was very good. I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in the Wilkesboro area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I booked this hotel (over the Hampton Inn) after reading all of the 5 star reviews it had previously received on Tripadvisor.com, so my expectations were high. I was a bit disappointed when I pulled into the parking lot and saw that this was an older hotel. I think it was probably another chains hotel previously and then the Holiday Inn Express renovated it. My room was a bit dated and some of the wall paper was pealing. It just wasn't the new, fresh smelling, modern hotel that I was expecting.
That said......there was nothing wrong with the hotel or my room. The bed was comfy and the room also had a mini fridge. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful when recommending a restaurant. The breakfast was okay, but I have had better at other Holiday Inn Express hotels.
There was nothing wrong with this hotel, but it was average at best. The Hampton Inn looked much newer and I will be staying there my next time in Wilkesboro.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnWilkesboro, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, responded to this review, May 28, 2009
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. With the help of your suggestions we aim to continue to provide great customer service and a memorable and pleasant stay.

We wish to make you aware that in the near future the hotel will be updating the exterior of our property with a brand new look and visual feel. This is a large scale renovations that will aid in giving or hotel a very visually appealing look.

We hope to have you back with us and receive your thoughts once the renovation is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

First time at a Holiday Inn Express, usually prefer full service hotels, but this was a very pleasant experience. The hotel staff, especially Matt Mayberry, were fantastic and very customer focussed. The free breafast was great - not the usual continental.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I am a volunteer for Alpha Omicron Pi and I was in charge of planning the Rose Banquet; an event for our newly installed chapter - Sigma Gamma of App State University. We booked the Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, NC to host the event and it was the best choice we made!!! Matt Mayberry, director of sales, was AMAZING!!! He was extremely helpful and was able to accomodate all requests. He was friendly on the phone and through email. Whenever I had a question he got back to me right away!!! Once I arrived at the hotel I realized even more I had made a wonderful decision - the room set up was perfect and anything I needed Matt was there to help me. The event ran smooth and everyone has a GREAT time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro

Address: 1700 Winkler Street, Wilkesboro, NC 28697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Wilkesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Wilkesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated as of April 2008! The Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, North Carolina is nestled in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, home of the famous 'Merlefest Bluegrass Festival.' Rushing waters for tubing, kayaking, canoeing or rafting, challenging bike trails, serene hikes and horse back riding are abundant in Wilkesboro, North Carolina. Whether you are traveling on business or leisure you will enjoy the breath-taking mountain views from our outdoor pool or relax by the gathering waters in our spacious lobby and meeting facilities which seats up to 300. Come enjoy the history, ambiance, wineries and everything else Wilkesboro has to offer including Wilkes Playmakers famous Tom Dooley Legend plus the Hometown Opry every Friday morning with many bluegrass and gospel favorites. Our hotel is in close proximity to restaurants, local business and shopping with Appalachian State University, Boone and Blowing Rock only a convenient 25 miles away. Our gracious, experienced and knowledgeable staff awaits your arrival and looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express In Wilkesboro Hotel Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Express Wilkesboro
Wilkesboro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.