We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Winkler Street, Wilkesboro, NC 28697   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
Zebulon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After spending a full day at New River State Park and needing a place for the night, I chose this hotel. It was very roomy, inviting and clean and the staff made me feel like they were there just for my stay. The bed was quite comfortable, including a good choice of pillows. Breakfast was very satisfying, which added just the right touch to make this a place to remember the next time I need to spend a night in Wilkesboro.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
20
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express is a couple of miles from the historic downtown Wilkesboro. There are some big-box stores and chain restaurants nearby, so it's not an isolated freeway stop.

Our reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was sufficient for the king-sized bed. All the furniture was in good shape and the place was clean. The mattress was comfortable and the linens clean. The pillows were a bit tired, however. The bathroom was clean and the towels were plentiful and clean. Our room was quiet when the air conditioner wasn't running; fortunately, it did not turn on much during the night. The room had a refrigerator. The closet space was small and could have used a few more hangers. The free wireless internet connection was sometimes slow. The breakfast was adequate but not exciting. The woman managing it did keep it well stocked and clean.

Because I got a good night's sleep, I would have called this place very good except for a lot of minor things: There was a small amount of mold in the bathtub. The carpet had a few small stains. The toilet seat was loose. The light switch and fan switch in the bathroom were (in my opinion) reversed from where they should be. Finally, on our last day after taking my luggage to the car I could not re-enter the back door because my key access had been turned off - it was like they were anxious for me to leave. The most egregious problem we had was the lack of hot water when I went to take a shower one evening. Each of these was a small matter, but altogether they detracted from our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were in the town for our nephew's graduation. The staff was friendly and offerred congratulations; they also provided info on the best way to get to the college as well as other local sites. The room was lovely and the breakfast was great. The warm cookies were a real treat on our arrival after a long day of driving. When we first got there, all the cookies were gone but the registration clerk made the extra effort and we were soon enjoying some with coffee. The housekeeping staff never failed to greet us in the hallway and cleaned our room at our convenience. Lovely lobby and nice business office if you don't have your laptop with you. Plenty of chain restaurants close by as well as familiar stores for any necessities or just shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staff friendly. Weird, tacky fake waterscape in lobby. Room decor fairly contemporary, new, clean.

Mold/mildew in grout and caulking areas in shower/tub...seemed like bleach couldve easily removed these stained areas....kinda gross and even worse at base where tub met tile floor.

Mildewy, funky smell upon entering room...cranked up heat long enough for burnt lent smell to mask mildew smell...turned ac on and smell tolerable.

Breakfast area packed at 8 am on Saturday morn....breakfast hostess couldnt keep up with stocking eggs and bacon...but nice that eggs and bacon offered along with signature cinnamon rolls and pancake machine. Free us today papers available.

Bed comfy...ample amount of pillows. However, I am light sleeper and hum of mini fridge was a bit loud so I never really slept.

Internet reception for ipad not great, kept getting bumped off.

Ask where to park to best reach room.

Can tell rooms have recently been remodeled and updated....has a Hampton Inn feel and decor.

Convenient to restaurants...major chains + local.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My mother and I came up to Wilkesboro to go to the Holisitic Medical Clinic of the Carolinas. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express due to the pictures we had seen on the internet, the great price, and due to the proximity of the hotel to the clinic. We stayed four nights and it was the best hotel experience we have ever had. My entire family has traveled much of the United States and we have stayed in numerous nice hotels, but either the staff was not very friendly or some other minor thing was awry. At this particular hotel everything was as close to perfect as we have ever experienced. (In fact, this is the only write-up on a hotel that we have ever done). Donna, at the front desk, was one of the nicest and friendliest ladies we have ever met. Our check in was smooth and we had a great conversation with her before we went to our room. On Tuesday night, catered in food was provided at no extra cost to guests. The food was delicious!! All of the housekeeping ladies were super nice and friendly and helpful. Tina even spent a little time talking with us and she was very personable and friendly. My mother and I just could not get over how wonderful the staff was...even the maintenance guys. Tom was very helpful with our a/c. We were running it wrong. The lobby is beautiful and the breakfast area was always serviced while we were eating and kept immaculate! You don't always see that in other hotels. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. We were accomodated in every way possible and our stay was a fabulous experience. We will be going back up in a month to the medical clinic and Holiday Inn Express, Wilkesboro, will be our "home away from home". I spoke with lady named Laura, who is the director of sales, and told her I wanted to talk to the manager to let him/her know what a wonderful experience we were having all the way around. After talking with Laura for a while I realized she is a special lady who truly cares for the staff and tries to help them in every way possible. The success of a business is directly related to the leaders in charge. If there are good leaders who truly show their care and concern for the staff, the staff will do a better job and that business will thrive. This is what I see at this Holiday Inn Expresss. I commend the managers/directors at this hotel. They have a staff that has become family and you can see that just by staying here. A very special thanks to the leaders and the staff for making our stay pleasant, enjoyable, and one of the best hotel experiences. Everyone truly just felt like our family! Everyone needs that when they are away from home!

Room Tip: We were on floor one (room 123) which was convenient to the workout room, ice machine, vending machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Had a reservation, and were here the same time as a big convention of resonator players. The staff was lovely. Rooms clean and quiet. For those of you who don't know, it's humid in NC. Just turn on the air conditioning low and that'll fix the humidity in the room without making it too cold. Breakfast was great, but better than most Holiday Inn Express hotels because they served bacon and not sausage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The managers Donna & Clara were very friendly, courteous & sincere. During our stay, the hotel had an uncontrolled power outage during the night. With no AC in our room, my family did not sleep very well. Our room was spacious, but a little noisy because it was located next to a couple of drink vending machines in the hallway & above the hotel's laundry room. The location of the room would not have been a problem, but with no AC on, we heard too much. In the morning, we were greeted by a very apologetic & sincere manager (Clara), who did everything in her power to take care of us as customers. We ended up leaving the hotel, knowing that when we were in the area, we would stay at this hotel again because of the management's professionalism and great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro

Address: 1700 Winkler Street, Wilkesboro, NC 28697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Wilkesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wilkesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated as of April 2008! The Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, North Carolina is nestled in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, home of the famous 'Merlefest Bluegrass Festival.' Rushing waters for tubing, kayaking, canoeing or rafting, challenging bike trails, serene hikes and horse back riding are abundant in Wilkesboro, North Carolina. Whether you are traveling on business or leisure you will enjoy the breath-taking mountain views from our outdoor pool or relax by the gathering waters in our spacious lobby and meeting facilities which seats up to 300. Come enjoy the history, ambiance, wineries and everything else Wilkesboro has to offer including Wilkes Playmakers famous Tom Dooley Legend plus the Hometown Opry every Friday morning with many bluegrass and gospel favorites. Our hotel is in close proximity to restaurants, local business and shopping with Appalachian State University, Boone and Blowing Rock only a convenient 25 miles away. Our gracious, experienced and knowledgeable staff awaits your arrival and looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express In Wilkesboro Hotel Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Wilkesboro
Holiday Inn Express Wilkesboro
Wilkesboro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express in Wilkesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.