We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group venue for large groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
1917 US Highway 421, Wilkesboro, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 51 Restaurants in Wilkesboro
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Alabama
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great group venue for large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We met here to eat during a 5 day music conference. The banquet accommodations were excellent. Waitresses were sweet, kept the tables cleared, and our glasses filled. The food was standard fare, the seafood salad was excellent, steaks were adequate, and the chocolate fountain a hit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Not the best - but will do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This Golden Corral has done better than I expected but unfortunately the quality of the food is not as good as other Golden Corral's I have visited. But when you want a wide variety of food selection - this is the place to eat while in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

ALOT of positive changes have been made to this buffet-style restaurant's location ... we recently visited after a long time away (you need only look at past reviews to know why it took so long). Thankfully, during a weekday lunch, it was a good experience again. The salad bar was very fresh. The hot items were also fresher, with better flavors, and different staff members checked temperatures constantly. I really liked that the dessert buffet offered smaller servings of cakes, pies, puddings, parfait-like items already portioned and individually served (a lot more appealing & safe). Our waitress was friendly & attentive with our drinks. Plates/cups/silverware were still older, but clean. I hope they continue with this positive trend, and that other people can enjoy the better experience that we did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We gave this place several tries...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

3 tries to be exact. The 1st & 2nd were mediocre at best this last time, our final try was AWFUL! The food was all dried out & almost everything empty, multiple plates were unclean yet stacked for use, cups weren't clean or dried yet put out, sweet tea was bitter & tasted as if container hadn't been cleaned in awhile, staff appeared hurried, unconcerned with customers & not friendly at all, even what looked like a manager, he looked uninterested! We won't be recommending this experience to anyone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worst Golden Corral”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have been to Golden Corrals in several states and many different locations and this one should get their franchise revoked. Really awful food that is not fresh. The cauliflower was covered in those black age spots, so many dished were dried out and just plain bad. We won't go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

Wilkesboro, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.