We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge
1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Whittier B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Husband and I were in desperate need of a getaway and this was the place to do it! The atmosphere is relaxing, peaceful, and the staff is great, to include Topie and Ethel, one of the resident cats and the resident chicken! So cute and friendly! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We live in SC and had my wife's in-laws in town to stay. We wanted to take them away for the week end and found Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge on Groupon. It turned out to be a great choice as the lodge is in a nice location close to the national park and many hiking and waterfall trails. It also has wonderful views across the valley. The owners were very freindly and attentive and the food was great. Breakfast was included and was as good as any B&B breakfast I've had. We also had dinner one evening and that was great as well. We would certainly go back - perhaps in the fall, when the folliage should be quite a sight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Where are we going?

This was the question as we passed through the gate and started the climb up the winding road. Over a mile later we found out, as we came out at the Tuc Lodge as we called it, and what met us was the Smoky Mountains living up to their name, as the mist swirled around the tops across the valley.

Despite some poor weather, our stay was very enjoyable, and James' cooking was excellent, just a shame he is not around all the time, so it is worth checking to see if there is an evening meal available on the nights you are booking for, and if so do try his cooking rather than eating out, and Tisha makes a mean breakfast, especially the meat skillet.

The place is very quirky, with loads of 50 and 60's memorabilia, collected by John, one of the owners, most working, and the use of the two large communal rooms enhance the enjoyment. Far more interesting than staying at your typical B&B/small hotel.

We had 5 very enjoyable nights stay, and we will certainly be trying to fit in another visit, possibly in the fall which will be spectacular, on one of our future trips from the UK.

There is loads to see and do in the area, and it is an ideal site for enjoying the Smoky Mountains and the surrounding area, or just chilling out sitting on the veranda watching the ever changing scenery.

Room Tip: The Sapphire Suite is very comfortable, but as it comes off the games room it can be a bit noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from staying two nights at Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge and we were so pleased with our visit! We bought a Groupon that was offered; however, we would gladly return and pay full price. The lodge was built in 1944 and the rooms have beautiful antique furniture and decor. There are two living room areas, one with a vast selection of books to read on the porch and the other with a pool table, old arcade games and a TV. We met John, the owner of the lodge, and Tisha, his daughter-in-law who runs the show! They were both great to talk with, and Tisha made a great breakfast for us each morning. My boyfriend and I took a hike around the property while we were there. The views from the porch are breathtaking alone, but I recommend hiking up the mountain a bit further so you can take in more of the stunning scenery. I recommend calling ahead the morning you head to the lodge! There is a locked gate that requires a password for entry and you most likely will not have cell phone signal once you reach the gate. If you call ahead, Tisha will give you the password so you can head right in. Can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just came back from a weekend getaway. We had a delightful time. The inn was cozy and our room spacious. The inn keepers were fabulous. They made great suggestions for dining and recreational opportunities. Wonderful made to order breakfast daily. Very accommodating and friendly. We will go back! Jennifer, Spartanburg, SC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family had a very nice, fun filled and relaxing weekend here. The rooms are clean and nice. Nancy really knows the area and can tell you all about the history as well. She is very pleasant to chat with and helpful about sights in the area. Tisha made amazing breakfast and dinner - we really enjoyed the food. They are close to Cherokee (fun shopping), Maggie Valley, Smokey Mountain National Park and many other fascintaing sights. We took a helicopter ride that was fantastic - the guys were great! Hiking is anywhere to be found at the Lodge wih the thousands of miles of logging trails - we loved that too. My favorite thing by far was sitting in the rockers on their front porch with that spectacular mountain view - I just couldn't get enough! We did have a dinner on the porch that was quite romantic! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Pearl Suite with two rooms adjoined by a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family had a really nice stay at the lodge during spring break. Sitting on one of the many rocking chairs, enjoying the mountain views from the front porch, was my Heaven. Tisha & James are gracious and accommodating. Their son Kelly is so bright and witty, my boys absolutely loved him! Their breakfasts were delicious & hearty. The lodge is right off a main road or hwy, we were able to easily navigate around NC and TN. We will definitely come back to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge

Address: 1475 Smokey Cove Rd, Whittier, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Whittier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tuckasiegee River Mountain Lodge to your Saves list