We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Corvette Room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gear Head Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Gear Head Inn
6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Whittier B&B and Inns
Boone, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Corvette Room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It was a late night, leaving the casino, Didn't want to go down the mountain, Gear head inn was on my left. Jim and Mary woke up to let me stay. Love them for that. The room was large and clean. Gave Me the Mountain feeling I was looking for. Second trip back I needed to get away to study for an exam. Peaceful I enjoyed myself every time I went. Thanks and I will see you soon.

Room Tip: Just don't take mine. I Love the Corvette Room. Near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent a long weekend at this motel and was pleasantly surprised at how well maintained and convenient this place was. Super large rooms. Located midway between Bryson City and Cherokee it offers a great base for whatever you may want to experience while in the Smokies. Wonderful owners/hosts will leave you with a right at home feeling. Good rates for the area make this place one that you should definitely consider. Thanks Gearhead Inn for a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fall just around the corner in NC. Had a wonderful time at the Gear Head Inn with Mary and Jim, the innkeepers! The renovations continue and the Inn is comfortable and clean! Boys against the girls in a game of "corn hole". Girls WIN!! Wonderful cool evenings to sit around the fire. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Corvette Room! Pick your favorite. Next time we hope for the Mustang room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellijay, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

When my wife and I decided, on a whim, to take off on the bike for the N Carolina mountains for a day on the Sunday before Labor Day, I called the GearHead Inn to see if they had a room. We got the last king bed room - seems the weather forecast had kept some customers away. Glad we did. We always prefer to stay in quirky little motels rather than the chains. Makes for more of an adventure. This place is fun. Rooms are big, clean, and comfortable. Very friendly owners, Jimand Mary, always there to help with recommendations on where to eat or visit. They sat around the bonfire visiting with the guests. Very enjoyable stay. We recommend it to anyone looking for an out of the ordinary, true old style motel experience. Just like the motor inns of my youth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My son and I decided on a road trip to spend some time in the North Carolina Mountains. Our calls to find a place to stay kept getting rejected because of No Vacancy until we found Gear Head Inn along with Jim and Mary. What a wonderful place. Motor Inn will take you back to the 60's with a modern touch. The beds were comfortable and clean with plush white sheets, a lot of people overlook this point along with nice towels. They did a good job of renovating this old Inn. New carpet and great lighting with a 60's style. Every room appears to be named after a muscle car of the 70's. The lights around the pool were shaped like a gear shifter. Jim and Mary made us feel like we were home. We used Gear Head Inn as a base camp for us to raft the Nantahla River, Jet Ski Fontana Lake and tube on Deep Creek. Worthy of checking this place out on your next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are about 17' x 21' Plenty or room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my first trip to NC, my girlfriend and I stayed at the Gearhead Inn, Mary and Jim the Owner/Operators were awesome. So friendly, and helpful, giving us tips on where to eat locally. The 'Roadrunner' room, was neat and clean. Whatever we wanted, all we had to do was ask. Always a wave hello/goodbye whether you were leaving, or returning. While we were too busy with friends in the area, the pool looked very inviting, and they even had the fire pit going, we roasted marshmallows and made smores, so very homey. Old fashioned service thats hard to find at a chain. Will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Love all the improvements at the Gearhead Inn. We love the idea and theme rooms. The mustang room is our favorite! Thanks again, Jim and Mary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gear Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gear Head Inn

Address: 6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the greatest cruising country in our nation, the Gear Head Inn is a destination for the young and young-at-heart who have a love affair with the open road. Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains, we are located on State Road 19, between Cherokee and Bryson City. Gear Head Inn is unique in its friendly atmosphere and immaculate,spacious accommodations. You'll feel right at home--here in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gear Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gear Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gear Head Inn to your Saves list