We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 North J.K. Powell Blvd., Whiteville, NC 28472   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Whiteville
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Road trip and stayed 1 night. Room was clean, clean; staff very very friendly and helpful. We loved it and would stay there again. We were very pleased with everything - but mainly how clean the room was. That's very important to us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Well I know what this place is all about, staff member told me what goes on there. They dont clean, mold on walls, cockroaches, rude staff, the big covers on bed maybe washed every few months. Furniture is broken, my chair was wobbly. Hair in the tub, hair on pillow cases, didnt have cups for coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Room was clean but ceiling was disgusting. The breakfast room had a great selection and it was also clean. The staff at front desk was excellent and very helpful. The Waffle International was across the parking lot, there food was very good and there staff was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Room was very clean and nice. Only problem I had was with the attitude of the staff. The breakfast room had a great selection and it was also clean. As long as you do not have to ask any questions at front desk you will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced and not clean, but sadly was told it was the safer of surounding hotels, that some cod be rented by the hour. Front clerk told me the area had many crack addicts which aS unnerving as I was traveling with my young granddaughter. Paid 76.13 for this room and it was very unclean what bothered me the most was I took my shoes off and the carpet was drenched. Nasty. We had to wear our shoes in the room. Pretty run down and didn't feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I questioned staff when they quoted me $55.00 a night for one person but as I told her you seem to have to pay more when you are not close to the interstate. Room was clean but ceiling was disgusting

I did take pictures but don't see how to add with the mobile app I am using

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

There is something beyond pathetic about being dropped off at a motel by a wrecker hauling your car at 5:00 p.m. on a Thursday night. There’s a pretty good chance that you’re not going to hoof all of your stuff to another motel; besides, the major competitor was already booked. We observed the completely drained and “under repair” swimming pool out front as we lugged our stuff to our room. Once in we discovered that the air conditioning was not quite getting the job done. There were heat advisories in the area indicating that the heat index was well over 110 degrees and my partner estimated that our room was probably around 85+ warm. (I was thinking 82 but who am I to argue?) The room was clean but unappealing; with older furnishing and a well-worn look. We did our preliminary check for bedbugs (none) and then discovered that the adjoining room door-lock also seemed to be in need of repair. Whilst fiddling with that my man apparently annoyed the folks in the adjoining room and an interesting conversation ensued between the two. After sweltering for a couple hours, we decided to request a fan from the front desk. Thankfully, once the woman at the front desk heard that our air was not functioning properly she said, “I’m not going to do that to you guys” and moved us to a room way down to the other end of the motel. Upon entry into that room it was like stepping into a completely different place! This section was obviously a later addition. The air conditioner was digital and functioning; the furniture was pleasant and in good repair; and importantly, there was no problem at all with the adjoining door. We ended up enjoying a good night’s sleep and a pleasant morning while waiting for our car to be repaired. Sometimes I read reviews on TripAdvisor and think, “How can people stay at the same place and have such wildly different opinions?” Well, this is a perfect example. Tip: Ask to stay in the far end of the motel!

Room Tip: Request a room at the far end of the motel; the "newer" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 503 North J.K. Powell Blvd., Whiteville, NC 28472
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Whiteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Whiteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.