We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue

Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue
1702 S Madison St, Whiteville, NC 28472
910-642-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Whiteville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Joe's on the way back to Charlotte from Wilmington. We read the reviews and were not disappointed. The food, service and friendly atmosphere was well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank LCLongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Joe's BBQ is the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the only place that I eat BBQ. I have never been disappointed in taste or service. We took the whole family of parent, aunts, kids, and friends. Everyone was satisfied with their food choice and it was nice to dine in the small town atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is Eastern North Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In case you are not aware, eastern NC BBQ has a vinegar tang to it, unlike western NC BBQ (sometimes called Lexington style) which has a catsup based sauce. Joe's BBQ in Whiteville serves eastern NC BBQ.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoWork4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Joe's is a must eat place if you are traveling through Whiteville, NC and you enjoy eating at unique mom and pop type places.

They offer amazing local cuisine and quality North Carolina style BBQ.

I have eaten here several times in my travels and have nothing but rave reviews for the service and food.

Very kid friendly and family focused. They also offer a very good local buffet that features Southern style foods ranging from fried chicken and fish to vegetables and desserts.

Try it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWV95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good as the best, better than the rest , and just a little bit habit forming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Eastern NC barbecue at its best! Mike Hyatt and family continue the tradition begun by his father Joe, from whence comes the name.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue also viewed

Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing