We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue

Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue
1702 S Madison St, Whiteville, NC 28472
910-642-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Whiteville
Restaurant details
Longs, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Clean, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our first trip to Joe's on the way back to Charlotte from Wilmington. We read the reviews and were not disappointed. The food, service and friendly atmosphere was well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Joe's BBQ is the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the only place that I eat BBQ. I have never been disappointed in taste or service. We took the whole family of parent, aunts, kids, and friends. Everyone was satisfied with their food choice and it was nice to dine in the small town atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is Eastern North Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In case you are not aware, eastern NC BBQ has a vinegar tang to it, unlike western NC BBQ (sometimes called Lexington style) which has a catsup based sauce. Joe's BBQ in Whiteville serves eastern NC BBQ.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Southern Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Joe's is a must eat place if you are traveling through Whiteville, NC and you enjoy eating at unique mom and pop type places.

They offer amazing local cuisine and quality North Carolina style BBQ.

I have eaten here several times in my travels and have nothing but rave reviews for the service and food.

Very kid friendly and family focused. They also offer a very good local buffet that features Southern style foods ranging from fried chicken and fish to vegetables and desserts.

Try it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Good as the best, better than the rest , and just a little bit habit forming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Eastern NC barbecue at its best! Mike Hyatt and family continue the tradition begun by his father Joe, from whence comes the name.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue also viewed

Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.