We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Eastern North Carolina BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue

Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue
1702 S Madison St, Whiteville, NC 28472
910-642-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Whiteville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is Eastern North Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In case you are not aware, eastern NC BBQ has a vinegar tang to it, unlike western NC BBQ (sometimes called Lexington style) which has a catsup based sauce. Joe's BBQ in Whiteville serves eastern NC BBQ.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Southern Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Joe's is a must eat place if you are traveling through Whiteville, NC and you enjoy eating at unique mom and pop type places.

They offer amazing local cuisine and quality North Carolina style BBQ.

I have eaten here several times in my travels and have nothing but rave reviews for the service and food.

Very kid friendly and family focused. They also offer a very good local buffet that features Southern style foods ranging from fried chicken and fish to vegetables and desserts.

Try it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Good as the best, better than the rest , and just a little bit habit forming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Eastern NC barbecue at its best! Mike Hyatt and family continue the tradition begun by his father Joe, from whence comes the name.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadburn NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Go Back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Used to be good when the pop owned it then sons took over. Now its for profit all the way. Sad. Instant everything, with cheaper is better quality. BBQ was vinegar dashed over meat, to save on sauce I suppose. You could taste the can taste in most of the sides, and service amounted to waitresses filling your glass and laughing in groups behind the counters. Owner often greets to make up for the lost quality but I would rather have the quality food as it used to be. Have gone over and over hoping it improves but I have given up that hope after many trips.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good place for southern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to eat at Joe's ever since I was a kid. The food is standard southern fare and almost everything is delicious. They have a lunch buffett that is a great value. The staff is very welcoming and service is prompt. I have never seen the bottom of my cup in this place. Your drink will be refilled endlessly. Their Carolina style BBQ is really good, as well as the catfish.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue also viewed

Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
Whiteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Old Fashioned Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.