We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boondocks

Boondocks
108 South Jefferson Ave, West Jefferson, NC 28694 (Formerly Frasers Restaurant)
+1 336-246-5222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boondocks Brewing Tap Room & Restaurant opened our doors on August 1, 2012 with a mission to provide a fresh, unique and engaging destination for residents as well as visitors to Ashe County. We are a locally owned and employee run small business that is Committed to Excellence and Dedicated to our Community. We are Ashe County's first and only commercially licensed Craft Beer Brewery and we brew small batches of hand crafted beers weekly. We have one of the State's best craft beer selections on tap and in bottles in addition to having our own beer on tap. In 2013 we added an outside dining area that locals call the "Boon Deck". In 2014 we opened our new "Brew Haus" just up the street to provide a venue for large parties, special occasions, offsite catering, corporate events and fund raisers in addition to providing much needed expansion space for our brewing operations.
Burlington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Took my boyfriend here as a surprise for our post Valentine's Day dinner. We loved it! The staff are so nice and knowledgable. The menu has so many different selections. We chose the ribeye. It was the BEST ribeye I have eaten in my life. We will definately return when in West Jefferson.

Visited February 2013

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your post Valentine's Dinner and for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that your experience was a good one as we are working hard every day to ensure that every guest has an awesome experience every time. We have upgraded the quality of meats that we use and we have spent extra time with our cooks to make sure that they deliver an exceptional plate each and every time. We often hear of the occasional mistake that we make (we are after all human) but hearing the positive feedback really helps to drive our point home to the staff and drives us to work harder.

We look forward to seeing you again and hope that we can earn the right to be called one of your favorite destinations. Make sure and visit our website and sign up for our weekly newsletter to keep up with all the changes and announcements.

Cheers....

Gary - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    35
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plantersville, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not there yet, but working hard!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate here twice during the annual family jaunt to West Jefferson-- for lunch only. The dinner menu looked interesting with great specials, but rarely leave the firepit in the evenings. The front of the house was run like a well-oiled machine-- the hostess was very helpful and inviting and the wait staff was excellent--The back of the house is another story! I had a hamburger with dried overdone patty that tasted like the frozen patties you get in a bag at Walmart-- others in our group said their food was good, but not great. We stopped in for a second try (the service was so friendly that we hoped the first trip was a fluke), but the food was only marginally better. In both cases, the kitchen was extremely slow for the quality of food they produced. However, the beer was cold and the company was fun, so we enjoyed the time together.
I have high hopes for Boondocks-- West Jefferson needs a nice place to enjoy a fine meal! Keep up the good work upfront.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and I apologize for the quality and speed of service issues that you described. We are in fact working very hard every day and we take all feedback that we receive very seriously. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly at brewman@boondocks-brewing.com and provide me with more specifics from your visit (date, approx time, number in your party, etc) I will be better able to address the items that you pointed out. Thank you again for your feedback and for your words of encouragement. We look forward to serving you again in the future and we will continue to do our best to make your experience with us a positive one.

Regards,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Late night pub dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Arrived on a Tuesday night. Most of restaurant was closed off as it is off season. Service was friendly and though we were there close to closing the kitchen was open and the full menu was available. Enjoyed a wine and some local NC trout which was nicely prepared and served with a veggie side and salad/bread. There were an array of TVs all tuned to the the UK-TN basketball game which as a KY guy was ok with me. Basic service: pleasant, fairly quick, nice food and glad that it was open late.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am glad that you gave us another opportunity to serve you. I hope that you noted the positive changes that we have made to our level of service and quality of food. We continue to work hard every day to improve and feedback is very important to us so again, thank you.

Gary - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Creek, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Out with the old, in with the new!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although we loved to eat at Frazers, the new Boondocks is making some great changes! Love the idea of a brewpub in West Jefferson.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

A group of us went in here yesterday and I have to say this was one of the best dining experiences we have had in a very long time! The service was fast, friendly, and constantly smiling! Very refreshing to say the least. The food was amazing and was out in am ample amount of time. Overall this is my new favorite restaurant in West Jefferson! 5 stars!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boondocks also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Boondocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boondocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.