We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Tavern

The Hotel Tavern
5 West Main Street, PO Box 238, West Jefferson, NC
+1 336-846-2121
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The brunch was very good, service prompt and polite, and the owner came around with freshly baked muffins for us to sample. Bill was reasonable, and we left full. While I was craving Shrimp and Grits, these were not on the Easter menu today, but that's OK. Since today was Easter Sunday, there was a special menu for entrees, and all entrees were affordably priced, serving size was ample, not skimpy, and delicious.

Next time, there willl be shrimp!!!!

Nice addition to West Jefferson, NC!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had two of our girls with us for brunch. We all had Belgium waffles, two of them the chicken and waffle option. So delicious!! The best I've had yet. Also- The highlight for the adults was the Bloody Mary bar, served at Sunday Brunch. You can't skip that- If you're a fan of Slim Jim's, Beef Jerky, and all sorts of yummy choices to mix into your Bloody Mary you'll love this as much as we did. Can't wait to come back and visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, Good Food, Good Music, Friendly Crowd = Great Evening Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

West Jefferson is a quaint small town. Very nice place to visit and we plan to return when we have more time to explore the shops and dip our toes in the river.

We were in town for a short visit and had dinner at The Tavern Hotel. The facility was recently renovated and is super nice and clean. Great bar, friendly staff, with both open and intimate eating areas. There are 3 dining areas and we chose to sit in the bar area so that we could enjoy the live music. We began with their signature appetizer which was very tasty and well proportioned. We had a glass of nice wine and ordered blackened salmon as the main entre. All of the food items we experienced were delicious. We did not have room for desert, so cannot comment on those menu items.

Our waitress “Paula” was super friendly, attentive, and added to our overall dining experience. The musician was very good, so try to visit when they have live entertainment and sit in the bar area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tiny food, big prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We've visited the Hotel Tavern a few times. It's a mixed bag. They did a nice job with their re-design/remodel of the location. The menu is not very extensive or interesting, but promises adequate variety of classic pub fare.

The first time we ordered the crab dip, it was absolutely loaded with crab--big lumps of crab--and it was delicious. This was an impressive "first note", but this app (that time) set the bar too high--nothing else we have ever had here was as good. The second time we visited, we could neither see nor taste ANY crab at all in the dip...it was like hot mayonnaise, sour cream, and cheese. We haven't tried to order it again.

I was excited to try the shrimp and grits--maybe the most unexpected offering on this mostly-typical menu. The shrimp and grits were OK, but itsy-bitsy...even if the portion were doubled or tripled, it would STILL be a small example of this low-country classic.

Added grilled shrimp to the (itsy bitsy) Caesar salad once. The shrimp were tiny, as was the portion.

We've had good burgers here, and good soups. In general, the food is good. Some menu items are presented in portions so small you'll be looking around for the hidden camera watching the joke. The real downside, and the reason we likely won't return: most everything on the menu is expensive for the quality and portion presented--this is pub food, not nouvelle cuisine or molecular gastronomy. Every time we have visited, at least one thing we tried to order wasn't available--the kitchen was out of this or that. If the other choices in town were better, we wouldn't have given this one as many chances as we have.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelTavern, Owner at The Hotel Tavern, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and take it to heart. Our menu is designed to be well rounded and includes fresh fish, steaks, chicken, pork and pasta as well as salads, sandwiches, burgers and pizza. We strive everyday day to provide quality food at a reasonable price, excellent service and a warm environment. we the owners are there everyday and would love for you to see us personally about any concerns you might have. Your business if greatly appreciated and we hope you will join us again in the future.

Thank you,

The Owners of The Hotel Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good food, not a large menu to choose from. Outdoor eating area is very pleasant in the spring and fall. Friendly servers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hotel Tavern also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Hotel Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.