We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Jack's Pub and Grill

Black Jack's Pub and Grill
18 N Jefferson Ave, 1219 Broad Street Box L026, West Jefferson, NC 28694
336-246-3295
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hamburgers, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on their high TripAdvisor rating and were dissappointed. The service was very S-L-O-W. It took at least 15 - 20 minutes to get the iced teas we ordered. My order was not prepared as requested and had to be sent back to the kitchen. The food was good but not spectacular, On our next visit to West Jefferson we will try some place else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    22
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“I will bring my wife next time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I like this place, great micro brew list and cold beer. Staff was great with me. I had the meatball pizza about 8 " round, it was moist and great. I asked for garlic power on the side. They have no mix drink menu but the beer was cold. It was busy on a Monday night about 6pm, The owner/cook could be more friendly that night to others, but her staff was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
639 reviews 639 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
“they didn't lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The place is very small, cozy, and dark. Their veggie wrap is very good and I was told their hamburger was just as good as they advertise. Our server was awesome and spent time talking to us when he found out he was familiar with the area we are from.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best Cheeseburger Ever - Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, my husband and I tried out Black Jack's. We both had cheeseburgers and I must say they were absolutely delicious!!! Virginia was awesome and we loved hearing her story of her journey to WJ from Romania and her pay it forward philosophy. If you're in West Jefferson, you must go to Black Jack's!!! You won't regret it!!! Tip: You'll need plenty of napkins BUT that's a good thing!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumpler, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average all the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just your typical sports bar. The owner (or manager)? can be a bit chatty. Wait staff and bar staff attentive. Burger is good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Jack's Pub and Grill also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Black Jack's Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Jack's Pub and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.