We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Old Fashioned Hamburger House

Nick's Old Fashioned Hamburger House
6999 Old US Highway 52 South, Welcome, NC
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Welcome
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marion, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Classic "hole in the wall" atmosphere, with very good burgers done up in the classic American style. Lots of locals while we were there, always a good sign.

Tip- ask about the Baggie full of water taped over the front door. Gave us a big chuckle!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“small place great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

you could almost drive right pass this place but if you did you'd be missing a great burger prices are cheap food was wonderful and messy i liked it also the onion rings were great

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We've lived in the High Point NC area for a couple of years, and have been on the hunt for a 'go to' burger joint. Today, we found it. I love a burger cooked on a smoking hot flat top - it imparts a wonderful crispy crust and moist, juicy interior. That's what they do at Nick's, and they do it well. The meat to toasted bun ratio was perfect. We saw them place the ground meat, in a formed ball, on the flat top, then mash (hey, I'm southern) the ball into a patty of perfect thickness. It draped outside the bun all the way around. Fries are a skinny version of crinkle cuts & were crispy and hot and plentiful.
It's not a fancy place, but that doesn't matter to us. What does matter is that the people there are very friendly & the service was quick even though everything was cooked to order. They're open M-Sat, 11-8 and accept credit/debit and also have a few other menu items like hot dogs, pork chop sandwiches, etc. So if you're anywhere close to Welcome, NC and are craving a delicious burger, head to Nick's. I was certainly glad we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great burgers, staff ??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went to Nicks for my first time last night. I seem to have a hard time getting there before their 8pm close time.
The burgers we had were great. Good flavor and size. The fries come with basically no salt. They do have some type of seasoning salt on the tables, but I couldn't get it to stay on.
Great burgers tho.
It was about 745pm when we got there and you could feel the "hurry up and get out" in the air. Even tho there were 3 other tables there eating it didn't seem to matter. We had a choice of one table when we went to sit down. All others had chairs on top of them. The young lady cleaning the dining area didn't let us slow her down at all, she even vacuumed (with the exhaust blowing on my food and myself) the entire room. No apology nor did we get even a "come back again" as we left.
I may return, but if so I'd call ahead so I don't have to deal with the bratty attitude and inappropriate cleaning habits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great burgers and frys!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I had double bacon cheeseburger and wife had reg cheeseburger and when I can't eat it all that's a big burger !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Old Fashioned Hamburger House also viewed

Been to Nick's Old Fashioned Hamburger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Old Fashioned Hamburger House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.