We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nom nom nom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe

The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe
26 N Main St, Weaverville, NC 28787-9427
18286459300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Weaverville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nom nom nom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Basically everything is delicious in this bakery/cafe with an extensive collection of pastries. Limited options for breakfast outside of pastries, but their quiche is delicious and comes with a side (I had kale and cranberry, which sounds a bit strange but was delicious). Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    65
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Delicious little pastry and coffee shop. We had breakfast there, and got a couple oversized cookies and pastries to go. Bright and airy inside. Fantastic pastry case. Also recommend the quiche for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If heaven had a bakery, it would be 'Well Bred'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Where to start? When you first walk in, you are greeted my the bakery display which is full of the most amazing desserts you can imagine. They look like they've come out of a Ral Dhal story! My husband has the sausage strata and I have the bacon, red pepper, and feta quiche which was A-MAZING! The coffee was so good, we bought a pound to take back with us. Well Bred is pristine! It received a 99.5 on their health inspection and it shows! I love this place...I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We're Hooked!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We're hooked on the Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe! Only trouble, is ... I can't tell you exactly what we're hooked on. <Grin> Everything we've tried has been yummy and totally fresh. We've tried French Toast Casserole, several varieties of muffins, several varieties of scones, the cheddar biscuit ... ah, well, you get the picture: we've sampled quite a few of their offerings and everything has been superb. And that's just breakfast. We've never had lunch there, but from what we've seen, we have every expectation that lunch would be a delightful, artfully-prepared, nourishing treat.

Some reviewers have noted that they've stood in line for a bit before being served. This seems to me to be due to the bakery/cafe's immense popularity. Each time we've visited for breakfast, there have been two servers behind the counter, and both glided along with speed and efficiency. Every customer gets undivided attention. And hey ... it's not fast food. Attention is given to presentation, as well as to preparation. For me, it's worth the wait. If you're in a big hurry, perhaps this isn't the place to stop.

The atmosphere is cozy, eclectic and pleasantly noisy/buzzy. Looks like a nice place for folks to meet and greet; those with dogs seem to meet and greet in the outside seating.

I would caution visitors ordering coffee to PAY ATTENTION to the (usually four) selections on the chalkboard behind the counter. If you just order "coffee," you'll be served a "Starbucks-style" coffee with that over-roasted burned bean flavor. If that's not your preference, go for one of the milder roasts; the chalkboard gives a brief description of each blend offered that day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My wife loves this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When ever we visit Asheville, my wife has to make a trip here to get baked goods to take back home. She loves their Carrot cake and a Pumpkin desert.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.