We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In decline” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Knob Cafe

Stoney Knob Cafe
337 Merrimon Ave, Weaverville, NC 28787-9253
828-645-3309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Weaverville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“In decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

3 years ago, this was my favorite place in the area. But over the past year, flavors have declined. Last time I was in everything was so grossly over salted that I didn't finish or take it home. Service is iffy. Some times outstanding, other times abhorent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    76
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I love Stoney Knob for brunch or dinner!! We have honestly never had a bad meal there or been with anyone who was disappointed. They have a wide selection to choose from and usually have a really good special. Plus their wine and beer menu is great! One of my all time favorites is the Walnut Ravioli-sounds weird but is a rich decadence you wont want to miss. You cannot go wrong by eating here!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tres Chic, Great Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Stoney Knob looks interesting from the outside--part classic diner, part mom and pop restaurant--but once inside, your eyes will be drawn to everything from leopard-print carpet to matador paintings to fake fireplaces to giant Madonnas (the Roman Catholic kind). My server was friendly, fast, and helpful. The food--I got beef tips on rice with a side of lima beans--was...words fail me...amazing, excellent, dy-no-mite. I would highly recommend the Stoney Knob. It's a little out of the way but well worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stopped at the Stoney Knob Cafe for lunch, first time in six years. We were pleasantly surprised. Our lunch was very enjoyable. We selected sandwiches - a reuben and pita, along with fries, coffee, capucino, and toffee cake. Everything was tasty and the service was good. It is well worth a return visit. The decor is subdued, but you can.t eat it so who cares.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

don't have very good experience with out of the way cafes but this place was surprisingly good! the staff was nice, the place was clean and fun. the food was really good and had some interesting options. Will definitely be eating here again on our next trip to Asheville.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney Knob Cafe also viewed

Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Stoney Knob Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Knob Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.