We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for fair prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Knob Cafe

Stoney Knob Cafe
337 Merrimon Ave, Weaverville, NC 28787-9253
828-645-3309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Weaverville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food for fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had the shrimp and gritts. Some of the best I ahve ever had! My husband had a hamburger with blue cheese and bacon. He said was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    76
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Eclectic and fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Transformed from a diner into a very unique little cafe, this place is worth a visit. It has a very romantic feel to it after dark. Food was mostly wonderful. My beef short-ribs were excellent but my husband ordered the black angus ribeye and it was one of the worst steaks we have ever been served. He left half of it on his plate. Everyone we spoke with loves this place so I think I would avoid the steak and give it a try.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Family Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went with a multigenerational group the night after Thanksgiving. Everyone found something they liked and the staff was very accommodating with all of our requests. The food was fresh,interesting and well prepared. They brought everything the way we asked for it. Kudos for a fun place with good food and staff and many choices for everyone. ( Our group is not easy to always please!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This quaint little establishment is fun, funky, and has a very eclectic menu. There are many unique dishes along with a nice assortment of vegan options for lunch and dinner. Servings are large! Great wine list, and the dinner menu has exclusive items, and the wait staff are very good at making wine recommendations. Bon appetite!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We tried this restaurant upon the recommendation of our campground owner, and we were glad we did.
The decor was like a contemporary 70's style. Different and interesting.
Our server was very nice and attentive. The food was great! We had duck spring rolls which we would definitely recommend. I had a Polenta & Eggplant Napoleon which was amazing, especially as I don't usually eat vegetarian food. My husband had the Carolina Shrimp & Grits which he very much enjoyed. We shared the chocolate mousse for dessert which was just enough.
The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice and the cost was not over the top. We will definitely be back.
Parking was a little tight. I wouldn't go in a large vehicle.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney Knob Cafe also viewed

Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Weaverville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Stoney Knob Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Knob Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.