We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes needed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Changes needed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This old Histrionic Inn was once splendid & grand. It's now in need of some TLC to return to "the Inn" of Waynesville. Our room in the old Lodge was rustic & comfortable, but the shower was not pretty and controlling the water temperature was difficult. The tile grout was covered with mold & it looked like they tried to cover the mold & mildew with white shoe polish. It was brought to management, but nothing was done and no action in the way of customer service. They missed an opportunity to show their Customer Service.

Room Tip: The food in the Tap Room was very good and the rooms with a balcony view of the golf course is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing. I will make sure your concerns are shared with our maintenance staff and the remainder of the management team. If you have any further details, such as the room number or any other defects, please contact me directly. Again, I apologize for your visit not measuring up to your, or our, expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    138
    54
    27
    22
See reviews for
54
191
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I took advantage of the off-season rates at this luxury golf resort to spend a couple of days in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Although the lodge dates from the 1920’s, it has been extensively modernized and new facilities have been added both for lodging and for golfers. In addition to getting a full breakfast for free, the prices in the Tap Room for drinks and food also were very reasonable. Although the temperature in the mornings was still in the 30’s the golfers were out in the sunshine on the (literally) greens.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the lodge facing the golf course; they have private balconies. Other facilities in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us, despite some chilly mornings! Thank you so much for your time in sharing your thoughts about the Inn. I look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We took advantage of a TravelZoo voucher and booked two nights for $100 and we were pleased at what we found. Our room was in the older part of the hotel, but was very comfy and felt like a room in a mountain lodge. The hotel is conveniently located and we had a nice view out our window. The golf course was beautiful and well maintained. The included breakfast was fantastic, with the food served buffet style but lots of attendants there for coffee, etc. They served the best grits I have ever had for breakfast, and the scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection. The only problem was that the checking process was a bit of a bottleneck with only one person checking in all the guests, but he did an awesome job of getting everyone checked in without appearing to rush anyone. Kudos to him!

Room Tip: If you aren't I into older decor, you might make your wishes known for the newer parts of the In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the Inn! I will certainly pass along your compliments to the breakfast staff. I apologize for check-in being a bit slow, but am glad you felt everyone was taken care of without feeling rushed out the door. Thanks again for your time in posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very large sized room and bed overlooking the course and surrounding mountains. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet was brilliant, plenty of choice and quantity! Great quiet spot, in easy location for exploring the blue ridge parkway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to post a review. Now that the weather is getting warmer, I hope we will be able to have you back in Waynesville to do some more exploring! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

In late October we got a Social Living Deal and visited The Waynesville Inn and really enjoyed our room and the food. There was another deal on line, and so we bought it and decided to go again for our Anniversary in February. This time our review is not as good. This time we were put in the main lodge and the room was a bit quirkly.....it was two rooms with a connecting bath between them. One room had two chairs and a TV and a large closet. As mentioned in other reviews it was clean but old, old, old. And when at 1:00 am on Sunday, the smoke alarm when off, that wasn't good. We called the desk and they suggested we take the battery out. Now the celings are high and I am short, so it was a good thing that my husband was able to stand on the bed (not entiely safe) and take the battery out. We did take the battery out of the alarm clock and try using it, but it was dead too! (but at least the noise stopped) Breakfast in October was to die for....breakfast in February, not so much. In fact, we passed on Sunday morning breakfast and went into Asheville for a brunch. The manager did take the taxes off our bill as a way of apology for the smoke alarm thing and dinner Saturday night in the bar was good. So if you are going pick your time carefully and ask not to be put in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I am so sorry your second stay did not measure up to your first experience with us. Let me, again, apologize for the poorly timed issue with the smoke detector in your room. As for the rooms in the Lodge, while some of the layouts are a bit quirky, they are among our most popular. While breakfast offerings are a bit more limited during times of lower occupancy, I would like to hear more about the shortcomings you experienced in that area. Please contact me directly if you would like to elaborate. Thanks again for posting a review and for being a repeat guest of ours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to Waynesville again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As reported in previous reviews, the grounds and exterior are gorgeous, but the rooms and interior of the inn itself is anything but attractive. The place was clean, but carpets are showing signs of wear and beds have craters in them. We did not have the room serviced while we were there, so no review of that. We also did not take advantage of the Balsam Spa. It may have been nice, but my wife and I chuckled when we saw the building that looked like the grounds keeper's house for the spa.

We received tickets for complimentary breakfast buffet that was pretty good (normally around $12/person). Scrambled eggs (real eggs), hash browns (under-cooked), biscuits, gravy, and grits were in a buffet-style setup. It was unfortunate that the Cork and Cleaver was not open during our stay. They actually have a decent restaurant review. There was nothing that indicated that the restaurant was closed. The alternative "Tap Room" was what you might expect at any bar. The staff was nice and friendly. Historic Waynesville and nearby Asheville was a treat.

Other than updating the interior, I would suggest to the owners that some finishing touches would make a world of difference (eg. fresh flowers for the room, some better toiletries, key card entry system, etc.).

I would return if the place was renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I appreciate your time in sharing some thoughts about the Inn. I am sorry you were unable to enjoy Cork & Cleaver, as it is normally closed during the winter months except on special occasions. While we try to make this known via our website and at check-in, I can understand your frustration. I have made note of your other suggestions as well. Thanks again for taking some time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent only one night at the Waynesville and we are not golfers. We came to reunite with old friends. At check-in the desk clerk asked if we were together as we had made are reservation separately. Yes we are. So he moved us to a room near our friends. We spent the evening visiting in front of the fireplace on the 1st (not ground) floor in a very comfortable room.
Breakfast was included with the room and was very nice with omelettes made to order and very attentive dinner room staff.
The only short coming we found was a lack of vending machines in the middle of the night to respond to a blood sugar of 29. Had to settle for Pepsi which did the trick but wouldn't have been our first choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the same building as registration which appeared to be vintage. Modern become boring af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in posting a review of the Inn. I will make sure your kind words reach the breakfast staff, and I have noted your suggestion regarding the need for more vending. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.