We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting, quality room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Waynesville
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb setting, quality room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very large sized room and bed overlooking the course and surrounding mountains. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet was brilliant, plenty of choice and quantity! Great quiet spot, in easy location for exploring the blue ridge parkway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to post a review. Now that the weather is getting warmer, I hope we will be able to have you back in Waynesville to do some more exploring! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    117
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
40
169
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

In late October we got a Social Living Deal and visited The Waynesville Inn and really enjoyed our room and the food. There was another deal on line, and so we bought it and decided to go again for our Anniversary in February. This time our review is not as good. This time we were put in the main lodge and the room was a bit quirkly.....it was two rooms with a connecting bath between them. One room had two chairs and a TV and a large closet. As mentioned in other reviews it was clean but old, old, old. And when at 1:00 am on Sunday, the smoke alarm when off, that wasn't good. We called the desk and they suggested we take the battery out. Now the celings are high and I am short, so it was a good thing that my husband was able to stand on the bed (not entiely safe) and take the battery out. We did take the battery out of the alarm clock and try using it, but it was dead too! (but at least the noise stopped) Breakfast in October was to die for....breakfast in February, not so much. In fact, we passed on Sunday morning breakfast and went into Asheville for a brunch. The manager did take the taxes off our bill as a way of apology for the smoke alarm thing and dinner Saturday night in the bar was good. So if you are going pick your time carefully and ask not to be put in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I am so sorry your second stay did not measure up to your first experience with us. Let me, again, apologize for the poorly timed issue with the smoke detector in your room. As for the rooms in the Lodge, while some of the layouts are a bit quirky, they are among our most popular. While breakfast offerings are a bit more limited during times of lower occupancy, I would like to hear more about the shortcomings you experienced in that area. Please contact me directly if you would like to elaborate. Thanks again for posting a review and for being a repeat guest of ours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to Waynesville again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As reported in previous reviews, the grounds and exterior are gorgeous, but the rooms and interior of the inn itself is anything but attractive. The place was clean, but carpets are showing signs of wear and beds have craters in them. We did not have the room serviced while we were there, so no review of that. We also did not take advantage of the Balsam Spa. It may have been nice, but my wife and I chuckled when we saw the building that looked like the grounds keeper's house for the spa.

We received tickets for complimentary breakfast buffet that was pretty good (normally around $12/person). Scrambled eggs (real eggs), hash browns (under-cooked), biscuits, gravy, and grits were in a buffet-style setup. It was unfortunate that the Cork and Cleaver was not open during our stay. They actually have a decent restaurant review. There was nothing that indicated that the restaurant was closed. The alternative "Tap Room" was what you might expect at any bar. The staff was nice and friendly. Historic Waynesville and nearby Asheville was a treat.

Other than updating the interior, I would suggest to the owners that some finishing touches would make a world of difference (eg. fresh flowers for the room, some better toiletries, key card entry system, etc.).

I would return if the place was renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I appreciate your time in sharing some thoughts about the Inn. I am sorry you were unable to enjoy Cork & Cleaver, as it is normally closed during the winter months except on special occasions. While we try to make this known via our website and at check-in, I can understand your frustration. I have made note of your other suggestions as well. Thanks again for taking some time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent only one night at the Waynesville and we are not golfers. We came to reunite with old friends. At check-in the desk clerk asked if we were together as we had made are reservation separately. Yes we are. So he moved us to a room near our friends. We spent the evening visiting in front of the fireplace on the 1st (not ground) floor in a very comfortable room.
Breakfast was included with the room and was very nice with omelettes made to order and very attentive dinner room staff.
The only short coming we found was a lack of vending machines in the middle of the night to respond to a blood sugar of 29. Had to settle for Pepsi which did the trick but wouldn't have been our first choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the same building as registration which appeared to be vintage. Modern become boring af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your time in posting a review of the Inn. I will make sure your kind words reach the breakfast staff, and I have noted your suggestion regarding the need for more vending. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent Stay at the Inn! Ironically it started off a bit Rocky during the reservation process, but Chris the Director of Rooms really stepped up and provided an outstanding experience for my wife and I plus another couple. No complaints whatsoever, customer service was excellent at both the restaurant and the ladies who cleaned our room. We had a small glitch with not being able to get into our rooms on day two because of the locks on the door, but this was rectified immediately and we were moved to another room down the hall. I highly recommend this location for anyone trying to get away to the mountains with close proximity o Asheville.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a Mountain View Room outside of the main Lodge, I believe our location was in the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking some time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. I apologize for the glitches in reservations and with the locks, but I'm glad we were able to bounce back and make your stay enjoyable. I hope we will be able to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The area and grounds are gorgeous but the Inn is in desperate need of coming into the future. Everything is so old and uncomfortable. The staff and everyone we meet were super nice and helpful but for the charges IWOULD stay elsewhere.
We were there for the breakfast buffet. Everything was col and not much choice. Also very over priced. Again the area is worth visiting.

Room Tip: If you chose this place for the golf get a room overlooking the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. I do thank you for complimenting our staff, but apologize for breakfast falling short - it is normally something for which we are most known. Again, I'm sorry your stay was less than enjoyable. Thank you for taking some time to post a review. It is extremely important for us to hear criticisms as well as praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Jus to got back from Waynesville. We drive by Waynesville all the time but never spent any time there. We decide to stay there for a 4 night stay, because it's close to Sking, Casino and Ashville.
We booked a Mountian View room. It was a large second story room over looking the golf course and mountains. The room was nice with a large balcony.It had a frig and microwave as well.
The room rate came with free breakfest to 2. They seem to daily rotate breakfest between buffet and "order what you want" breakfest. The buffet was so so but the ordered breakfest was pretty good.

My only complaint about the room was the bed was hard.
The staff was great, front desk and restaruant.
We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Get a golf course / mountian view room. They are bigger and have frig and microwave. The golf cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to post a review of the Inn. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. Indeed, the breakfast can vary during lower occupancy periods, when we normally cook everything to order to make sure each guest gets a fresh meal to start the day. Thanks again for the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.