We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Waynesville
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent Stay at the Inn! Ironically it started off a bit Rocky during the reservation process, but Chris the Director of Rooms really stepped up and provided an outstanding experience for my wife and I plus another couple. No complaints whatsoever, customer service was excellent at both the restaurant and the ladies who cleaned our room. We had a small glitch with not being able to get into our rooms on day two because of the locks on the door, but this was rectified immediately and we were moved to another room down the hall. I highly recommend this location for anyone trying to get away to the mountains with close proximity o Asheville.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a Mountain View Room outside of the main Lodge, I believe our location was in the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking some time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. I apologize for the glitches in reservations and with the locks, but I'm glad we were able to bounce back and make your stay enjoyable. I hope we will be able to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    115
    45
    22
    17
See reviews for
39
168
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durham,nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The area and grounds are gorgeous but the Inn is in desperate need of coming into the future. Everything is so old and uncomfortable. The staff and everyone we meet were super nice and helpful but for the charges IWOULD stay elsewhere.
We were there for the breakfast buffet. Everything was col and not much choice. Also very over priced. Again the area is worth visiting.

Room Tip: If you chose this place for the golf get a room overlooking the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. I do thank you for complimenting our staff, but apologize for breakfast falling short - it is normally something for which we are most known. Again, I'm sorry your stay was less than enjoyable. Thank you for taking some time to post a review. It is extremely important for us to hear criticisms as well as praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Jus to got back from Waynesville. We drive by Waynesville all the time but never spent any time there. We decide to stay there for a 4 night stay, because it's close to Sking, Casino and Ashville.
We booked a Mountian View room. It was a large second story room over looking the golf course and mountains. The room was nice with a large balcony.It had a frig and microwave as well.
The room rate came with free breakfest to 2. They seem to daily rotate breakfest between buffet and "order what you want" breakfest. The buffet was so so but the ordered breakfest was pretty good.

My only complaint about the room was the bed was hard.
The staff was great, front desk and restaruant.
We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Get a golf course / mountian view room. They are bigger and have frig and microwave. The golf cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to post a review of the Inn. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here. Indeed, the breakfast can vary during lower occupancy periods, when we normally cook everything to order to make sure each guest gets a fresh meal to start the day. Thanks again for the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Waynesville Inn was wonderful! The staff was very accomodating, and the breakfast was fabulous. Our room was very clean and comfortable And the scenery was breathtaking. If you want a relaxing vacation, the Waynesville Inn fits the bill...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words! I will make sure to circulate your review among the staff. I hope we will be able to have you back to Waynesville again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our 2nd stay in 7 months, because of it's proximity to our GA home, beautiful setting and occasional good promotions. First stay was in "Fairway" (?) rooms on the golf course, a more modern accommodation across a green from the main clubhouse. Nice, with mini fridge, and chairs outside. This visit we stayed in the main lodge, in a "rustic" mountain-styled large double-bedded room, with a covered balcony overlooking the course out back. The lodge is old, so these rooms are older, but clean, and comfortable, reminding one of staying in a relative's guestroom. Ultimately, the linens should be updated to white beds, a comfortable standard in the industry. Service is always good, and welcoming. Food in the Tap Room is good, including the breakfast. The Inn is convenient to the highways to visit other areas like Asheville and Cherokee. Recommend. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am happy to hear you have been with us before and plan to return. I will pass along your kind words to the staff and make not of your suggestion regarding the linens. Thanks again and we look forward to your next trip to Waynesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just got back from a 2 nite stay there. Not bad. A "golf and spa" resort????. Did not have a microwave and fridge....rooms need to be updated - badly. Bed was not that comfortable. Service was good, food was good, location was alright. Expected more from a "golf and spa resort". Good value but more like staying in a hotel. C

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm so sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Indeed, much of our identity is tied to golf, and the Inn can be much less vibrant in the winter when golf is on the back burner for most. I apologize for the shortcomings you have mentioned and appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and food. Thank you so much for taking some time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The outside of the Inn and the surrounding views are lovely. Our complimentary breakfast buffet was great and the service was very good. We used a Travelzoo coupon and got a very good deal on the room rate. The common areas are fairly well maintained. Here comes the "but" -- we stayed in the oldest part of the inn, which was built in the 1920s. The rooms are small and very clean, but desperately in need of upgrading. Mismatched curtains and spreads, threadbare sheets, slightly musty carpeting, stained ceiling tiles and mismatched replacement tiles. Such a pity, because renovating the interior of this lovely building would bring it back to the showplace it must have been. However, after two stays at the Inn, we will not stay there again unless we can get a room in the newer buildings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for taking some time to share your thoughts about our property. I appreciate your kind words about breakfast and our staff. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing, but I have noted your suggestions for review. Thank you again for posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.