We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn in a great town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great inn in a great town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came to town for an arts and crafts festival and to golf. We will stay here again. Breakfast staff especially friendly and they make great made to order omelets as well as having a nice buffet selection. Dinner at the restaurant was not so good. Our suite was nice sized and very comfortable. Enjoyed sitting on our covered balcony looking over the golf course and mtn. views.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main inn. Our suite was good sized and had a lovely balcony with chairs overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your time in posting a review of the Inn. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, but I do apologize for dinner not being up to par. If you would like to share any additional details, please contact me directly so I can give our culinary team some things to improve upon. Again, thanks for the review. I look forward to meeting you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    135
    48
    26
    22
See reviews for
49
186
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Six Mile, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Even though the weather did not cooperate and we had to check out a day early (no refund..had a Groupon deal) we still enjoyed this stay. Everyone was friendly, everything was clean. We stayed in a golfview room (upgraded at check in) and it was spacious with a beautiful view (except for fog and rain mist). Breakfast was great...thanks to the chef for the great omelets! Would definately stay again... hopefully with a better weather forecast.
Waynesville has many shops and restaurants on Main Street, did not get to see them all again due to weather and it being a Sunday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I'm so sorry the weather didn't cooperate during your stay, but I am glad you enjoyed your short time with us. I will pass along your thanks to the breakfast staff as well. I hope to have you as a guest again soon ... We will work on ordering up some better weather for your next trip! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've stayed here at least twice a year since we discovered it several years ago. The first time we came, we were charmed by the older rooms in the main lodge overlooking the golf course and mountains, the rocking chairs, the friendly servers we met at breakfast who had worked at the hotel for many years, the gorgeous setting, the quaint mountain town. We talked to a couple of families who had been coming to the inn for years...and now we are doing the same. We've brought family and friends with us, too. The inn isn't perfect - we've stayed in each of the buildings now, and noticed that some of the rooms are worn and some of the rooms have had mattresses that were not the least bit comfortable. (maybe they'll do something about that - soon?) The prices seem to have increased quite a bit since we started coming, but when we can get a good rate, this is one of our favorite weekend escapes. The golf course is enjoyable - and beautiful. The area is absolutely gorgeous any time of the year, and there are lots of things to do nearby. The atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. We've enjoyed every visit. We stayed in the Golfview building on our most recent trip and liked sitting out on the balcony looking at the beautiful fall foliage. We're looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It's so nice to hear from longtime guests! I appreciate your continued support and thank you for sharing your experiences at the Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I hope you will be able to join us again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took advantage of a two night special offer to explore the area and enjoy the fall colors. We had a wonderful time in and around Waynesville; we also enjoyed the large room on the 9th hole with a fantastic colorful view over the course into the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am very happy that you were able to enjoy a quick fall getaway with us in Waynesville. Thank you for your kind words about the Inn and the surrounding town. I hope we can set up a return trip for you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the Waynesville Inn quaint, convenient and wonderfully clean. Unique is not hyperbole here. Even the negatives are endearing. You'll be glad you stayed.

We stayed in the historic original clubhouse, in a queen non-smoking room with a balcony.

The balcony and its view were the best features. The spacious balcony is tucked beneath the high ceiling of the Cork & Cleaver's open terrace, well-back from the weather, and with an ashtray provided. The view across the restaurant, historic golf links, and up to the mountain ridge beyond are beautiful.

The closet came in second. It swallowed our empty luggage and all of our unpacked stuff.

The charming, pine paneled room itself is quite small, and the bathroom is simply tight, but the large balcony and closet make up for it. The towels seemed very new. Everything was as clean as a whistle. I understand the fairway rooms are standard sized.

We love room service and missed it at Waynesville. Breakfast and dinner were above average. Service is enthusiastic. Breakfast is included (don't forget to tip your waitress based on a $12 value). Generous portions and competitive prices made the tavern a great choice. My classic beef tips entree had an entire NY strip hidden in it.

Here's what lacked: The bed set seems left over from the 1970's, inexplicably. An incredibly cheap mattress with bad springs on one side. The linens felt like pantyhose material. Acrylic foam blanket. The HDTV only received analog cable. The basic fitness room consisted of one treadmill, one elliptical and some dumbbells (this *is* an athletic facility). The front desk staff seemed disinterested.

The location is excellent, moments away from the highway exit, with easy access to both Asheville and the casino at Cherokee. The Blue Ridge Parkway's southernmost segment encircles Waynesville, and there are four recommended access points that include the highest elevation on the entire parkway. On Main St, we ate A+ barbecue at Blue Ridge BBQ Company and bought penny candy at the Mast General Store location.

Room Tip: Ask for a "historic" room with a balcony overlooking the restaurant terrace, golf course a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review of our property. It is very encouraging to hear from another satisfied guest, and I appreciate your suggestions for improvement as well. I will make sure to pass along the compliments and suggestions to the staff and management team. I hope we can have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have been to Lake Junaluska and Waynesville many times but never knew this place existed. We picked up a deal on a half price site and are certainly glad that we did. The Inn is beautiful with great food and service. We had a room in the Golfview unit that was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the golf course and the fall trees. From the time we made the reservation till the time we checked out, we were well taken care of by a friendly and courteous staff. We would certainly recommend either the Tap Room or the Cork and Cleaver for a delicious and well prepared meal. The breakfast which was included in our stay was top notch. When we are in the area the next time, this will be our first choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. I understand from other reviews, there may be some rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to let the entire TripAdvisor community about it! Thank you for the compliments, especially regarding our staff ... We certainly have a cast full of stars here! Thanks again for your time in posting a review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located at the western end of the little town of Waynesville, NC; the inn is in a beautiful spot. We were given a fairway view room which was huge. The view was of a fairway for sure but the fall foliage on the sides of the fairway and the beautiful mountain view at the end of the golf course was the real story. The golf course is an interesting layout and well maintained. Buffet breakfast in the Cork and Cleaver was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your time in posting a review. I appreciate your kind words and am happy to hear your enjoyed your recent stay, especially the view and the breakfast. I hope we can have you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.