We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed this weekend. We were on a coupon, but expected better than we had. We stayed in the main lodge. The room smelled so badly, fan running when we arrived in our room. We turned the fan off, opened the windows (35 degrees outdoors - freezing better than stinky). The rooms are very old, paint chipped and cheap shower curtain. Room seemed to be clean, but carpet so old not sure how clean. We found clothes in our closet and promptly took them to the front desk. We did ask for an upgrade to the room when we first checked in - this is the best they had to offer. We are very disappointed, we could have stayed at a chain hotel where the rooms are guaranteed for the same amount with a lot more satisfaction!
Cork and Cleaver Steakhouse left a lot to be desired. We are not snobby eaters, but only one review truly reflected the reality of this steakhouse. We made reservations in November, but called day of arrival to change reservation time - they never mentioned that they were on a limited menu with only one steak option! Three options for a meal, two were not steak! The steak was not quality, it was worse than a grocery store steak.
Review responses from the management mention "rustic" these rooms are not "rustic" they are old and in desperate need of updating! I understand "bait and switches" feelings - we saw very nice rooms on line, but were given a very old, poor room instead.
Too bad - I like the location and the staff were all friendly!
Please renovate all of the rooms, bring them up to the 21st century!
We will not be going back :(

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms are not what you see on the internet. Steakhouse needs real steak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to post such a detailed review of the Inn. First of all, I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. The timeframe in which you stayed was extremely popular, due to the impending expiration of a coupon that was very successful for us in 2011. Because of this, we were only able to offer upgrades to a small percentage of guests upon check-in. While I understand your frustrations with some of the shortcomings you experienced, I can assure you that the rooms seen online are the same that you will find here at the Inn. Still, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we are accustomed to hearing. I have noted several of your observations and pledge that we will work hard to correct them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    138
    54
    27
    22
See reviews for
54
191
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had the deluxe room 2 beds for our recent stay. This was the newer section of hotel, and was very quiet and private. The view from the room was amazing of the golf course. The staff, especially in the morning buffet were incrediblly friendly and helpful. We will return when in the area.

Room Tip: Reserve in the deluxe section or the top floor of main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review of the Inn. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time enough to return whenever you are in the area again. I will let the breakfast staff know that you especially appreciated their hospitality each morning. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recently spent 4 days at the Waynesville Inn in Waynesville, NC. The first two nights were spent in a room that would qualify as rustic at best. Although the room left a lot to be desired, there are no complaints about the staff which were very hospitable and the food in the hotel restaurant was great. The second 2 nights however, were a disappointment. The room although larger was very retro and worn. The bathroom was horrible, the lighting was almost non-existant (very dim burning lamps. The bathroom vent / heater / light sounded like it was going to explode. By investing a some serious money on room upgrades they could make this a very nice place to stay. As mentioned before, they already have a great staff.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask not to placed in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks for taking some time to describe your experience with us. I appreciate both the compliments to our staff and the details of your stay that we can look to assess and improve upon. Thanks again for your review, and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Warning! Earlier reports are totally true! The best they have to offer can be compared to a used, cheaply-built mobile home with fake wood paneling filled with mattress and furniture from the road side. Memorable accommodations is right -- Sad, sad, sad. For the price you can stay at a much nicer establishment with much better golf offering. They think too highly of the place. Know before you go!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
While I certainly disagree with your characterization of our property, I thank you, nonetheless, for taking the time to share your thoughts. Both the startling comparisons and real lack of substantive detail within your statements leave me a bit unsure of where you may have stayed on property. However, I do wish that you would have been able to enjoy your time with us more. If you would like to recount the details of your stay, please contact me directly. I would like to hear more about your experience. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Inn is probably 30+ years old and is showing its age. We were there for a two night stay on a coupon so it is hard to judge value. The area is beautiful. There are three 9-hole golf courses that looked friendly, although we did not bring clubs.There was a decent pro shop with a helpful pro.
Instead of golf, we took a beautiful drive to Brevard over a gap. That took most of the day but was worth it. Both nights we ate in the bar and watched football on one of several large screen TVs.. They had good soup and burgers. Breakfast was included and was served upstairs in the up-scale restaurant. the offerings were plentiful, including made-to-order omelettes. We dound a great bookstore/coffee shop on the way in, too.
Waynesville is near Asheville and the Biltmore House, Dillard, Sylva, Brevard and Hendersonville. I would love to go back to the area but would probably look for different accommodations.

Room Tip: Keep asking. Granted, we were there on a coupon but the first room offered was awful, small and dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of the Inn. Indeed, we have been here a while - the Inn is actually almost 85 years old and the Lodge is among our most popular of accommodations. However, as you noted, we do have several newer buildings on property as well. It looks like you were able to get out and explore Waynesville and the surrounding mountains quite a bit, and I'm glad you have become a fan of the area. I hope we are able to have you as a guest sometime in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Bought a 2 night package for my husband and myself, and bought another for our friends. We are not golfers but I couldn't resist the deal. I was alittle bit worried, because of some of the reviews, and not being familar at all with the area. However, I was extremely pleased as were the other 3 members of the group. The staff which included the maid,and the front desk, and restaurant help, were all very friendly and smiling, and so helpful. The breakfast included was wonderful, I got a made to order omelet, just how I liked it. And the views were fantastic. What a beautiful golf course, but since we don't golf, we took a drive to the historic downtown Waynesville,-walked around- ate at one of best restaurants there..the Sweet Onion, and then drove up a mountain to the State Park where the Elk Population resides!!! Saw many wonderful elk and wild (almost) turkey, went for a walk and then back to the beautiful Waynesville Inn!! All 4 had a wonderful time in the picturesque mountains of North Carolina--Thanks Waynesville Inn and Golf Resort-- PS--planning on coming back after we take a few golf lessons!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Waynesville and it is always exciting for us to introduce new folks to the area! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of so many of the things that surround us - from the Historic Downtown, to the restaurants and of course the Great Smokies. Thank you so much for your review, and for the many compliments regarding our staff. Good luck with the golf lessons ... we're looking forward to your return already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Clean, very nice staff. Not what we expected. More like a lodge for golfers. Very outdated room. Bed was comfortable. Sad fitness room. Common areas are lacking, to say the least. Would NOT consider it as a resort.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewaynesvilleinn, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of the property and I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We, indeed, do a great deal of golf business and much of our property has a more rustic, lodgy feel. I do appreciate your candor and your time in posting a review of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 176 Country Club Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.