We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Motel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Park Inn
Save
You added Oak Park Inn to your Saves list
196 S Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Newton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sweet Motel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This small, independent motel within walking distance of eclectic downtown Waynesville, NC is run by super nice folks, features 40-some rooms that are clean, homey, with a retro motor court vibe. Reasonably priced and near many mountain attractions, don't drive by without checking it out. Coffee and pastries are served each morning along a wealth of info about places to explore. It's our 2nd time staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    6
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here on a camping tour down Blue Ridge Parkway, after four consecutive nights of bad weather and a soaking tent... This place is your run-of-the-mill roadside motel; it is clean, the manager is nice, there is free wifi and coffee with pastries in the morning. The restaurant nearby is very good, by the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in june 2014. The rooms are old yes, but exceptionally clean. Paid 89$, and yes best westerns provide shampoo and this place doesn't, however this is an independent business with character. A cheap chain hotel would cost the same and have none of the characterand probably be very dirty. SService was good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville. TN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am torn to write this review as we just got back and we truly love the Oak Park Inn. I am a local who stayed here 12-15 years ago and knew what to expect. It hasn't changed a bit and I would consider it a motel, retro ( think maple furniture, pine panelling and country critter wallpaper trim)
super clean, not updated, not the best linens but feels like you're at your Aunt's house whose beds are a little lumpy and doesn't buy 500 thread count anyway. Refrigerator and microwave. Would have really enjoyed a coffee/tea set up in the room. ( they do offer this and pastries at the front desk in the morning). Location is awesome for downtown, you can walk to about 10 different restaurants and all the downtown shopping, art and festivals. The Strand Theatre is now open-- retro--again. The owners were lovely and have corn hole out to play in the drive through out front. Everyone sits out front and hangs out -- Waynesville travelers are laid back-- I had young children and never felt they were bothering anyone. The WIFI was ok then iffy at night, then back to ok-- I'm sure that has to do w/ how many guest are on property. My only complaint is there was no shampoo. Even the cheeziest motels have shampoo so I would have liked a heads up on the shampoo so I could have purchased some. TV was fine and got all the cable channels including Disney. Great water pressure-- really--easy check in-- I was gone all day and he remembered my son and gave him a key which was a very kind thing to do. I will stay here again when in town to visit family. It was less than $70 and the location seals the deal-- for those who were saying $100 plus in October-- it's the peak leaf season-- so even that is a deal-- happy travels

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We love Waynesville especially during their Music Street Festivals. A very short walk from the motel to the main street makes this the best motel in the area to stay. It isn't fancy, but it is clean and comfortable. Priced right. We enjoy the locally owned motels when we travel. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Kind of a retro motor motel in style. No dining on site, but the owner recommended a family style restaurant a short walk away, which was very good. Beds were extremely comfortable. The room was clean. The included breakfast consisted of cellophane wrapped pastries and coffee or tea with powdered whitener. We opted for another walk to another restaurant in the Dowtown area, only two blocks away. To sum up: good value for the money and we would return and I would recommend this motel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Last year when we stayed at another hotel in Waynesville, NC, with our dog, my wife saw this hotel, with the 1950's motif, and decided to ask about the rooms (since the style is 1950's with SMALL rooms and dated appearance, but was assured by the owners that the pet friendly rooms were remodeled 'just like these rooms on the main elevation (the pet friendly rooms are down a stone staircase at the back of the complex). The pet rooms are not remodeled, are SMALL, have bed linens that are old, tired, and this complex does not provide toiletries (no shampoo, conditioner, etc.) nor coffee in the room, though there is an old style coffee maker in the closet but you must purchase coffee, filters, etc,), and the rates are high...and, the "coffee and danish" that are provided at the office for breakfast...this is laughable and truly shows the cheapness of the man owner...the "danish" are cellophane wrapped Wal-Mart sweet rolls. Yes, there is coffee and packets of hot chocolate but that is it...compared to the main hotel chains that provide a true breakfast and larger rooms and bathrooms for this fee or even less..The man owner is unfriendly, the lady is very pleasant. Overall, this is not a good value and the rooms are just out of date. Stay on the Rt. 23/26 hotels which do provide better values. There is no fitness center nor is there a pool. Yes, the location is in-town, but the owners need to spruce this up and spend monies to invest in their property.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Please see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Park Inn

Address: 196 S Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Oak Park Hotel Waynesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.