We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location for downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Park Inn
Save
You added Oak Park Inn to your Saves list
196 S Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location for downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a Mom &Pop motel, not an Inn. Great location, walking distance to downtown. Parking is just outside the door. The owners were very pleasant. If you want to spend a night and not a fortune, this is the place for Waynesville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    6
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stopped for one night. We arrived after the office was closed but our key was taped to the office door waiting for us. You don't find that at chains! The room was clean with No bedbugs! This is a small, older, motel-court type motel which seems to attract a lot of motorcycle riders. In the morning, the owners were both very nice. They gave good directions for us to get on the Blue Ridge Parkway and seem to enjoy what they do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times before with no issue.. This time however, after having confirmed our stay months in advance to assure staying with the wedding party, we were ousted to accomidate the growing room needs of a large family reunion who uses Oak Park more often than we do... The conversation was just that... too bad... It made our assistance to the wedding party very difficult. I can understand the conflict but not the conclusion considering having confirmed reservations and having re-confirmed them several times.. We had been in the room for a few days when ousted for the greater need... Unfortunately we will not be able to believe in them again with this being so openly poor..

Room Tip: Have an alternate location arranged... One of the pet friendly rooms does not have old carpet... Ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ok lets start out by saying this place is an old motor lodge. Know that ahead of time and you will know what to expect, it was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed and I slept better than I have in months. Beautiful, cute property a block out of downtown Waynesville with nice owners with a family feel. There is nothing fancy here, furnishings are mismatched and nothing new in the room but for what you are paying who cares? When in these beautiful mountains you will not be spending time in the room anyway! Extremely comfortable beds, some of the best water pressure in the shower ever and boy do they have hot water! Personally I'd go back tomorrow with no issues, oh yea did I mention oarking right in front of your room and rocking chairs to boot? Loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had to be in town for a meeting at lake junaluska. After searching for a value accommodation for several weeks, we ended up at this loely little motel. It is a trip back in time to a simpler time. Rooms are simple but very clean and well equipped with plenty of room. Grounds are quiet and relaxing. The owners are helpful and friendly. A great place to stay in this lovely little town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My car brokedown near Waynesville and I was lucky enough to stumble upon the Oak Park Inn. It's a charming little early 50s motel with rocking chairs in front of each room. It's also within easy walking distance of all the shopping and dining in the historic downtown. The owners Rick and Carolyn could not have been nicer. They gave me a ride to get a rental truck and even helped me hook up my car - you won't get that kind of service at a chain motel by the highway. Next time I'm in town I will definitely check in.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Felt like I was at my family's homestead, a little dated, but clean and folks were nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Park Inn

Address: 196 S Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Oak Park Hotel Waynesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.