We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mountain lodge-type hotel; good value and recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grandview Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandview Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A mountain lodge-type hotel; good value and recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms for two nights both of which were charming wooden ceiling/walled rooms with a homely rustic, mountain cabin feel. The bed-heads were made of logs and the beds had attractive bear design blankets. The beds were very comfortable. The heating was efficient, if old fashioned (radiant heater built in to the wall) but over two cold nights with snow lying on the ground they were comfortably warm. The bathrooms were old fashioned but in keeping with the "cabin" feel but they were very clean and well serviced. A separate fan-assisted heater, again built in to the wall, made the bathrooms warm on cold mornings. The hot breakfasts were filling and varied from day to day. They were served in a large comfortable dining room with excellent service from the couple running the hotel. We sat in the sitting room/entrance room with a large burning fire in a stone fireplace in the evening playing cards. On the second night plates of pizza were left out for guests and we could make hot drinks in the kitchen. We were made to feel very welcome.
Having read some of the reviews we simply did not recognize this as being the same place as that described in some of the ridiculous, negative reviews. There was not a dog to be seen!!
Two points - coffee making facilities in the rooms would be good although, as mentioned, we could make hot drinks in the kitchen. The other, and our only criticism, is that the walls are rather thin such that, for example, I could clearly hear the man snoring in the next room and, if your neighbors watch television late (ours didn't) it would be intrusive. A final point which has been mentioned in other reviews is that the wifi reception was available in our room but was not in our son's room two further away from the main reception. A more powerful router would solve this.
We will definitely return to Grandview Lodge and I urge readers not to be put off by the undeserved negative reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others. We really appreciate your candid review and appreciation for our Lodge and amenities. We will also look into the suggestions you mention to further enhance guest experiences. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent 2 days at the Grandview Lodge after Thanksgiving, a little vacation added to the holiday. First, it was advertised that it had wireless internet. But we were informed that it didn't go as far as our room. Don't know when the room was last vacuumed, but the closet floor was covered in small green pebbles. It's pretty chilling in the mountains at the end of November and our room was freezing. The little electric heater finally warmed it up by about 10 PM. Breakfast was average at best. On day 2 we spent the day in Smoky Mountain Park. When we got back to our room, chilly and tired after a fun day, we found that the room had not been serviced - no clean towels and unmade beds. Couldn't find the owner anywhere. In the morning we asked whether this was their policy and were informed that "their guests didn't want anyone in their rooms". Really??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and we sincerely apologize for your disappointment. We have always provided maid service upon request simply because the vast majority of guests prefer us to not go into the rooms unless they are staying longer than two days. As a rule we refresh the rooms after the second night. As to the cleanliness issue we have brought this to the attention of our Housekeeping Manager. She checked your room and did not find the same issue as you did and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asha730
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a long weekend in NC. The peoiple who run the B&B are very friendly and hospitable. The atmosphere is relaxed. The breakfasts tasted great and it was a beautiful view sitting out on the covered porch. They gave us a lot of good suggestions for local attrqactions to see as well. We took the largest room in the main part of the house. It was a nice size with a nice large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had a lot of privacy. We truly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Public Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and really appreciate your review! We hope to see you again in the Smoky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed in many B&Bs and I sadly have to say the Grandview Lodge did not measure up to most of them. Our room (the Wilhite) was very large and had comfortable seating - both features not commonly found at B&Bs. However, the water temperature in the bathtub/shower was so erratic both mornings I went from shivering in cold water to nearly being scalded - all without touching the temperature dial. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. This was the first time we've not been served a hearty, varied B&B breakfast on nice china by gracious hosts. Rather, it was serve-yourself style with paper plates and cups and nothing other than a mediocre grits and sausage casserole and cold cereal. We opted to not even venture into the dining room our second morning. Lastly, the dog that is compelled to yip like crazy every time anyone arrives or departs is extremely annoying, especially when his yips at another guest's early-morning departure woke us up. The host's warning that the dog is an "ankle biter" was not much of a warm welcome, either. All in all, the Grandview has great potential but, as it is now, is not a lodging we'd revisit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Grandview Lodge. We had discontinued our classification from bed and breakfast accommodations to Lodge accommodations about a year ago. Unfortunately some internet directories still classify us as a B&B. Irregardless, we do provide a complimentary Continental Plus breakfast to our lodging guests, and it is not similar to that of a bed and breakfast's full/formal hot breakfast. We apologize for the behavior of our dog, and have taken steps to remove him from the guest common areas. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to fine tune our operations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I found the Grandview Lodge via Groupons, so booked 4 nights for my boyfriend and I in the William Ferguson room. It was our first bed and breakfast experience, so we were not quite sure what to expect. Upon arrival, we found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Tom helped us check in, showed us to our room and answered all our questions. While unpacking, we met Terry, who recommended a nice place on the parkway where we might view the sunset that evening.

The room was very large with a king-sized bed. It was very clean and minimally decorated, but had a lot of country charm. I loved the nice, smooth wood flooring in the room and the electric fireplace, which gave a lot of warmth and comfort. On a small note, if you have trouble navigating steep staircases, you may not want to stay in the William Ferguson, as the room is reached by a a rather steep, narrow old staircase; however, there are plenty of beautiful ground-floor rooms to stay in if you are not partial to stairs.

The location of the Lodge itself was very nice with a breathtaking view from the porch. It is located far enough from town so that it's quiet and has a remote feeling, yet there is only a short drive to some great restaurants and quaint downtown Waynesville.

Breakfast was just alright. I wish there had been more bacon and sausage, but the egg casseroles and biscuits were filling and adequate to get us started on our daily mountain excursions.

On a final note, I would like to say that we were especially fond of Harley, a very personable little guard dog with lot of attitude! Although he is quite vocal during the day, he seemed to be quiet as a mouse at night, and we both felt that the little old fellow has earned the right to bark as much as he pleases after all he's endured (he was rescued from a bad situation, and now lives a happy life at the Grandview Lodge).

I would recommend this place to anyone, and we would certainly return whenever we get the chance. Thanks for the hospitality and fun memories, Grandview Lodge!

-Missy and Dennis, October 2012

Room Tip: The William Ferguson and Jerry M. Allen rooms are both accessed by a steep and narrow staircase. Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the detailed review and sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate you staying with us and will share your review with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This lodge has been in business for years and has had a "facelift" with the current owners. Rooms were dated...think 1950's with avocado green & pink tiles in the tiny bathroom. Could not determine how to heat the room and this weekend was chilly with rain. Brrrrr. Breakfast was below average for a B&B. Plan to dine in town. The location & views are lovely.
Would I return? No Recommend to a friend? No

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Public Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We wish you would have asked us about the heat for your room - we have two heat sources. And the one room that you stayed in is 50's decor. Most guests find it nostalgic and some of our repeat guests request it specifically. We hope you'll consider trying Grandview Lodge another time and let us show you all of our themed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed during my birthday weekend and I don't think we could have picked a better place! It was rustic, cozy, and the people were friendly. Harley was loud and barked every chance he got, but he did pose for me for a few minutes, which was sweet. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs. We discovered that breakfast goes fast, so it's best to get to the dining room early. We liked our room (Jerry M Allen). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. From the lodge we went to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, and Cullowhee. There were other guests but, except at breakfast, we could hardly tell. We had a relaxing time there and would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review! We enjoyed meeting you, and will share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Lodge

Address: 466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grandview Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grandview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.