We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Lodge to your Saves list
Grandview Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 GET 10% OFF
Ranked #9 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very welcoming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I found the Grandview Lodge via Groupons, so booked 4 nights for my boyfriend and I in the William Ferguson room. It was our first bed and breakfast experience, so we were not quite sure what to expect. Upon arrival, we found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Tom helped us check in, showed us to our room and answered all our questions. While unpacking, we met Terry, who recommended a nice place on the parkway where we might view the sunset that evening.

The room was very large with a king-sized bed. It was very clean and minimally decorated, but had a lot of country charm. I loved the nice, smooth wood flooring in the room and the electric fireplace, which gave a lot of warmth and comfort. On a small note, if you have trouble navigating steep staircases, you may not want to stay in the William Ferguson, as the room is reached by a a rather steep, narrow old staircase; however, there are plenty of beautiful ground-floor rooms to stay in if you are not partial to stairs.

The location of the Lodge itself was very nice with a breathtaking view from the porch. It is located far enough from town so that it's quiet and has a remote feeling, yet there is only a short drive to some great restaurants and quaint downtown Waynesville.

Breakfast was just alright. I wish there had been more bacon and sausage, but the egg casseroles and biscuits were filling and adequate to get us started on our daily mountain excursions.

On a final note, I would like to say that we were especially fond of Harley, a very personable little guard dog with lot of attitude! Although he is quite vocal during the day, he seemed to be quiet as a mouse at night, and we both felt that the little old fellow has earned the right to bark as much as he pleases after all he's endured (he was rescued from a bad situation, and now lives a happy life at the Grandview Lodge).

I would recommend this place to anyone, and we would certainly return whenever we get the chance. Thanks for the hospitality and fun memories, Grandview Lodge!

-Missy and Dennis, October 2012

Room Tip: The William Ferguson and Jerry M. Allen rooms are both accessed by a steep and narrow staircase. Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the detailed review and sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate you staying with us and will share your review with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
34
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This lodge has been in business for years and has had a "facelift" with the current owners. Rooms were dated...think 1950's with avocado green & pink tiles in the tiny bathroom. Could not determine how to heat the room and this weekend was chilly with rain. Brrrrr. Breakfast was below average for a B&B. Plan to dine in town. The location & views are lovely.
Would I return? No Recommend to a friend? No

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Public Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We wish you would have asked us about the heat for your room - we have two heat sources. And the one room that you stayed in is 50's decor. Most guests find it nostalgic and some of our repeat guests request it specifically. We hope you'll consider trying Grandview Lodge another time and let us show you all of our themed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed during my birthday weekend and I don't think we could have picked a better place! It was rustic, cozy, and the people were friendly. Harley was loud and barked every chance he got, but he did pose for me for a few minutes, which was sweet. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs. We discovered that breakfast goes fast, so it's best to get to the dining room early. We liked our room (Jerry M Allen). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. From the lodge we went to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, and Cullowhee. There were other guests but, except at breakfast, we could hardly tell. We had a relaxing time there and would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review! We enjoyed meeting you, and will share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful experience, great hospitality, congenial hosts, within easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway and Ashville. Will go back at the earliest opportunity and will be glad to recommend it to others. The Farmhouse was built in 1890. Charming and comfortable rooms. Breakfast choices were plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this B&B after the Labor day weekend for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable and the Lodge itself was very homey and quaint. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed sitting out on the "front porch" in the evening to relax and enjoy a beverage while watching the butterfly bush that was alive with butterflies. The only critique I would offer, would be that the little cafe within the Lodge be open in the evenings for guests who would like to just stay at the Lodge and have dinner. Thanks to Tom for making us feel comfortable and also to the owner Terry for your hospitality! We really enjoyed it there!

Room Tip: We usually look at our room before checking in to any hotel or B&B. That way you know what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our recent 2-night stay at the Grandview Lodge in Waynesville, NC turned out to be exactly the quiet, peaceful respite we were looking for. The rustic lodge, and the attached units located behind the former farm house, were reminiscent of times gone by. It appeared that all units had been recently refurbished. The interiors of the rooms were paneled with the original knotty pine which you could tell had been recently cleaned. Our bedroom was neat and clean. With 2 Queen size beds, it was perfect for a good night's sleep. So comfortable! As an older couple, we really appreciate a good bed.

Inside the Lodge, a delicious full breakfast was served every morning- eggs, bacon and sausage, as well as biscuits, butter and jam. What a pleasant way to start the day. On the front porch, we could hear the tumbling water from a creek across the street. The location of Grandview Lodge makes easy access to nearby Sylva, Bryson City, Cherokee, and of course, historic down-town Waynesville.

If you are looking for a Sheraton, this is not the place for you. You are not paying grander hotel rates. But, if you are looking for a quaint, family owned B&B with reasonable rates and good food, this is the place you need to try.

Our thanks to Terry and Nancy, the proprietors and to the Chef Tom. Everyone was gracious to us. Judy A.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My trip to the Grandview Lodge was nothing like I expected it to be. Dont get me wrong, the people were friendly and very helpful (except the male chef) but you have to have more then a friendly smile and a sweet southern accent to run a Bed and Breakfast.
Starting with the bathrooms- Hairs in the sink, walls, and tub. There was bugs crawling in my window! The shower curtains were molded!
Eating out on the deck would of been a great experince if I would of got to look out over a mountain or someting like that. But what I got to look at was a house with a bunch of trash in the yard.
The rooms were sooooo hot, and the air conditoners barley even worked!
THE WORST PART OF THE WHOLE TRIP was the little dog that they have. It was trying to bite me and his owner (the crappy chef) just let him run wild! He had fleas and was running around in the kitchen. Get this, they was putting the dog on the tables where we are suppose to eat!
My husband even walked in on them grooming the dog in the kitchen sink!
So all in all, if your looking to stay somewhere with little rooms that are overly charged and dog flavored food, then Grandview is your place!

Room Tip: you want a good tip? Dont go to Grandview Lodge. You're better off at staying at the Super 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. At the time of your visit, we had had a lightning strike and a major power outage that affected our air conditioning units. Furthermore this was in the middle of our summer heat wave. We attempted to buy some window air conditioners locally, but all stores were sold out due to the extraordinarily hot weather. We brought your cleaning issues to the our housekeeping department, which was very surprising to them and to us. This is not the norm, and we are looking into it. The dog grooming you refer to was not in the kitchen, but in the utility area.

The Grandview Lodge has been serving guests since the 1930's, and with great reviews and a strong repeat clientele. We regret that your visit was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Lodge

Address: 466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grandview Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy atmosphere and rustic mountain decor at Grandview Lodge in Waynesville, North Carolina, make it a great place to wind down after a day of exploring the Great Smoky Mountains and surrounding area. It's a familiar, comfortable place to relax, to enjoy nature, and to engage with one another in the majestic mountains setting of Western North Carolina. Located in the Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains of western North Carolina, Grandview Lodge puts you in the heart of one of the nation's most beautiful areas. Known for its natural splendor, activity-filled outdoor lifestyle and serenity, this magnificent setting offers a variety of activities or the perfect backdrop to do nothing at all. And you'll find plenty of area attractions. Each of Grandview Lodge's rooms has its own personality and design. Comfortable and quaint, each room includes a complimentary Continental Plus breakfast, and free wi-fi. There's plenty of peace and quiet for the ideal couple's retreat or romantic getaway. And some of our rooms are designated pet-friendly too! Check availability to help plan your next mountain vacation. Learn more about our mountain lodge in these photos. Looking for a rustic mountain setting for your wedding or special event? We can accommodate up to 38 lodging guests in our guest rooms and cottage; and dining is available for up to 100 event guests. Authentic mountain surroundings and beautiful landscaping grounds ensure a memory-making experience. It all comes together to make this special place a home away from home that you'll enjoy returning to, year after year. The picturesque beauty of the grounds and indoor settings at Grandview Lodge, along with our great food and superior service all add up to the perfect combination for your group event. From the moment you begin planning your event, our staff will help you every step of the way. We can accommodate up to 100 people for: Weddings Bridal Luncheons Bridal Showers Rehearsal Dinners Family Reunions Group Events Corporate Retreats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.