We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Lodge to your Saves list
Grandview Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 GET 10% OFF
Ranked #9 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Kenosha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this B&B after the Labor day weekend for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable and the Lodge itself was very homey and quaint. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed sitting out on the "front porch" in the evening to relax and enjoy a beverage while watching the butterfly bush that was alive with butterflies. The only critique I would offer, would be that the little cafe within the Lodge be open in the evenings for guests who would like to just stay at the Lodge and have dinner. Thanks to Tom for making us feel comfortable and also to the owner Terry for your hospitality! We really enjoyed it there!

Room Tip: We usually look at our room before checking in to any hotel or B&B. That way you know what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
34
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our recent 2-night stay at the Grandview Lodge in Waynesville, NC turned out to be exactly the quiet, peaceful respite we were looking for. The rustic lodge, and the attached units located behind the former farm house, were reminiscent of times gone by. It appeared that all units had been recently refurbished. The interiors of the rooms were paneled with the original knotty pine which you could tell had been recently cleaned. Our bedroom was neat and clean. With 2 Queen size beds, it was perfect for a good night's sleep. So comfortable! As an older couple, we really appreciate a good bed.

Inside the Lodge, a delicious full breakfast was served every morning- eggs, bacon and sausage, as well as biscuits, butter and jam. What a pleasant way to start the day. On the front porch, we could hear the tumbling water from a creek across the street. The location of Grandview Lodge makes easy access to nearby Sylva, Bryson City, Cherokee, and of course, historic down-town Waynesville.

If you are looking for a Sheraton, this is not the place for you. You are not paying grander hotel rates. But, if you are looking for a quaint, family owned B&B with reasonable rates and good food, this is the place you need to try.

Our thanks to Terry and Nancy, the proprietors and to the Chef Tom. Everyone was gracious to us. Judy A.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My trip to the Grandview Lodge was nothing like I expected it to be. Dont get me wrong, the people were friendly and very helpful (except the male chef) but you have to have more then a friendly smile and a sweet southern accent to run a Bed and Breakfast.
Starting with the bathrooms- Hairs in the sink, walls, and tub. There was bugs crawling in my window! The shower curtains were molded!
Eating out on the deck would of been a great experince if I would of got to look out over a mountain or someting like that. But what I got to look at was a house with a bunch of trash in the yard.
The rooms were sooooo hot, and the air conditoners barley even worked!
THE WORST PART OF THE WHOLE TRIP was the little dog that they have. It was trying to bite me and his owner (the crappy chef) just let him run wild! He had fleas and was running around in the kitchen. Get this, they was putting the dog on the tables where we are suppose to eat!
My husband even walked in on them grooming the dog in the kitchen sink!
So all in all, if your looking to stay somewhere with little rooms that are overly charged and dog flavored food, then Grandview is your place!

Room Tip: you want a good tip? Dont go to Grandview Lodge. You're better off at staying at the Super 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNsights722, Guest Relations Manager at Grandview Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. At the time of your visit, we had had a lightning strike and a major power outage that affected our air conditioning units. Furthermore this was in the middle of our summer heat wave. We attempted to buy some window air conditioners locally, but all stores were sold out due to the extraordinarily hot weather. We brought your cleaning issues to the our housekeeping department, which was very surprising to them and to us. This is not the norm, and we are looking into it. The dog grooming you refer to was not in the kitchen, but in the utility area.

The Grandview Lodge has been serving guests since the 1930's, and with great reviews and a strong repeat clientele. We regret that your visit was not satisfactory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A friend and I recently spent the weekend at the Grandview Lodge and could not have been more pleased. Terry, Nancy & the entire staff were all very warm and attentive. The room was cute and clean and we were welcomed with chocolates, fresh flowers and a bottle of Biltmore Pinot Noir (there is a small $ for the wine but it was reasonable - not like what you'd spend on airplane bottles from a hotel fridge!) The grounds and garden were full of green grass, wildflowers and an organic garden. We took easy day trips to the surrounding areas off Blue Ridge pkwy, Maggie Valley and various hiking trails which were all fairly close. Nearby Downtown Waynesville could NOT have been any cuter and had an impressive selection of restaurants - but if you want the real deal let Tom or Nancy cook you up something tasty from the Lodge's Moonshine Grill which is only open for dinner on weekends. Those two can COOK! Overall excellent experience here and will definitely be back to stay in October when the leaves change.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Grandview Lodge for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. We chose this hotel because of the location (just outside of Asheville, near Maggie Valley) and because it is dog-friendly. The dog-friendly aspect is very important to us as we take our 2 labs with us on practically every family vacation.

The hotel is small and a little old, but extremely clean and well-maintained. By small, I mean that there are not many rooms but there is a cottage that can be rented which is adjacent to the main hotel. We stayed in the General Rutherford~"we" included 2 adults, 2 tall teenagers, and 2 labs~and while it was just a bit crowded, it was not uncomfortably so.

Grandview Lodge is located in Waynesville on a quiet street away from the town~there is enough room for a pleasant walk for the dogs as well as outdoor seating. There is an apple orchard on the property (small) that gave the illusion of being in a more rural setting.

We found the owners to be friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. They directed us to a garage to get my husband's truck a/c looked at (this was in the middle of the heat wave that hit the southern U.S.), a place to get take-out, and a recommendation for a picnic spot on the Blue Ridge Parkway. That meant a great deal to us as we don't like to leave the dogs in hotel rooms alone. In spite of the car repair (which was no big deal), the evening was relaxing and enjoyable~it lent itself to quality family time that is hard to find with two teens.

Breakfast was relaxing~coffee on the porch, then a breakfast casserole with biscuits and a small selection of other items. Again, the owner spent some time talking to us and other guests.

Parking was great~there was a place for my husband to park his truck with a boat trailer, and I parked my car directly in front of the room.

There was no a/c in our room which for some reason we must have overlooked when researching the hotel, but it made little difference. Since it was unusually hot, the room was slightly uncomfortable at first; but as the night cooled down, it became comfortable. The rooms would be fantastic in the fall.

We will definitely stay at the Grandview again when we are next in this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast on the porch while hummingbirds and butterflies fluttered around the yard. There were local shops and restraunts as well as hiking and outdoors activities to entertain us during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUPITER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at the Grandview Lodge!! Terry and Nancy the owners were awesome and so was the staff!! Had a great dinner with some nice Apple Pie moonshine and awesome service!! Our room was very comfortable and clean! We were surprised both mornings with a great breakfast!! My husband and I had taken our bicycles and did a nice long bikeride one of the days!! Everyone was very personable and we felt very welcome!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Lodge

Address: 466 Lickstone Road, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grandview Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy atmosphere and rustic mountain decor at Grandview Lodge in Waynesville, North Carolina, make it a great place to wind down after a day of exploring the Great Smoky Mountains and surrounding area. It's a familiar, comfortable place to relax, to enjoy nature, and to engage with one another in the majestic mountains setting of Western North Carolina. Located in the Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains of western North Carolina, Grandview Lodge puts you in the heart of one of the nation's most beautiful areas. Known for its natural splendor, activity-filled outdoor lifestyle and serenity, this magnificent setting offers a variety of activities or the perfect backdrop to do nothing at all. And you'll find plenty of area attractions. Each of Grandview Lodge's rooms has its own personality and design. Comfortable and quaint, each room includes a complimentary Continental Plus breakfast, and free wi-fi. There's plenty of peace and quiet for the ideal couple's retreat or romantic getaway. And some of our rooms are designated pet-friendly too! Check availability to help plan your next mountain vacation. Learn more about our mountain lodge in these photos. Looking for a rustic mountain setting for your wedding or special event? We can accommodate up to 38 lodging guests in our guest rooms and cottage; and dining is available for up to 100 event guests. Authentic mountain surroundings and beautiful landscaping grounds ensure a memory-making experience. It all comes together to make this special place a home away from home that you'll enjoy returning to, year after year. The picturesque beauty of the grounds and indoor settings at Grandview Lodge, along with our great food and superior service all add up to the perfect combination for your group event. From the moment you begin planning your event, our staff will help you every step of the way. We can accommodate up to 100 people for: Weddings Bridal Luncheons Bridal Showers Rehearsal Dinners Family Reunions Group Events Corporate Retreats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.