We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about the Yellow House !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Save Saved
You added The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road to your Saves list
89 Oakview Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Campobello, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't say enough good things about the Yellow House !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I love B & B's and came upon the Yellow House by chance and what a fortuitous day it was ! The rooms are just lovely especially the Windwardside Suite and the Carriage House Suite. And to top it all off, Shawn, the caretaker, provides the best food including hor d'ourves in the afternoon and a scrumptious hot breakfast served in your room if you choose. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spotless and charming.
We have returned many times to enjoy the riding in the area ( the Blue Ridge Parkway is just moments away) and to just plain relax. Be aware though, there are no TV's in the rooms but one is available in the main house. Wireless internet is also available.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter and larger in the Carriage House than the main house. There is a more isolated ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
133
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greer
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We decided to get out of town for a weekend at The Yellow House and had the most wonderful time. Everything was carefully thought out to make our stay easy and tranquil. The food is INCREDIBLE- Shawn is not only a wonderful Innkeeper but a fabulous cook. Little touches like daily fresh baked cookies make it feel cozy and homey and we loved the soft music that plays throughout the house continuously. The property is beautifully kept and just charming. This is the perfect place for a few days to escape the real world. Be sure to ask for the baked grapefruit! The Carriage Room is divine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Yellow House is beautiful inside and outside. The rooms are charming and very comfortable.
I loved my great big bed, the fireplace, the comfy sofa and the warm soft robe. The food is delicious! For instance, the mouth watering Quiche, the Peach baked french toast(made with croissants) and many other so yummy things to eat. Innkeeper Shawn is the perfect host. Everyone feels like an honored guest at the Yellow House

Room Tip: We had the Carriage House room. This is elegant. There is a fireplace, A comfortable sofa if I just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyellowhouse, Public Relations Manager at The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
What a great review!! Thank you so much and we hope to have you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second visit to The Yellow House and again, we were impressed! We had delicious hot breakfasts served in-room each morning by cheerful staff who were eager to please. The crisp, comfortable king poster bed in the beautiful and spacious S'conset room gave us both a good night's sleep. It snowed our last morning there - the jacuzzi tub and wonderful gas fireplace made for a lovely end to a serene, romantic weekend. The stocked 'fridge and snacks/drinks available from the guest bar kept us happy & satisfied. Thank you for another great visit!

Room Tip: S'conset is on the main level, right around the corner from the guest kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Yellow House is lovely. The setting is ideal with a pond and waterfalls, large trees and beautiful landscaping. It is quiet and so very relaxing. The nearby town of Waynesville was very nice with a variety of shops. The staff at The Yellow House was very welcoming and the breakfast tasted as delicious as it looked. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable and there was a gas fireplace in the room. We felt relaxed and the fact that coffee, tea and sodas as well as snacks were available all day made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theyellowhouse, Public Relations Manager at The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just spent our first weekend at The Yellow House. We stayed with a large group and took over The Pond House, a set of 3 separate rooms at the top of the property, overlooking The Yellow House. We stayed in The Savannah room, which had such a great view of both the upper and lower ponds. The ducks returned a bit early this year due to the warmer weather, according to Shawn. Loved watching them. We spent one day driving and hiking through The Smoky Mountains. Even in winter they were gorgeous! Our breakfasts were very satisfying, and we enjoyed meeting several other couples staying at the main house. Shawn, the Innkeeper, and his Staff were very kind. It was a 9 hr drive, but plan to be back in the Spring to see the beautiful flowers. I drove to view the other B&B's in the area. Some homes were comparable, but they have nothing on this property. Just incredible. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have tv's. We didn't miss one in the Savannah room but check with Shawn if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Love this place I will never stay at another band b the staff are so nice and the rooms are lovely and the water is hot! It is way better then the B and B that we just left because it is outrageous to need hot water in a room with a HOT tub

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.