We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yellow House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Save Saved
You added The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road to your Saves list
89 Oakview Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Yellow House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our trip to see the fall color was the reason we chose Waynesville, NC. The Yellow House is the reason we'll be going back. It was THE BEST getaway we've ever had! We stayed in the pond house, behind the main house. It was lovely and romantic, more than we had expected! Breakfast at the sunny bay window was scrumptious. The main house was a delightful. We enjoyed meeting other guests while sipping wine and sampling cheese, late afternoon. We could not have found a warmer, more gracious host than Shawn. We are looking for time in our schedules to run back to this beautiful, dreamy retreat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
133
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A good friend proclaimed the Yellow House as her favorite B & B so when it showed on our GPS lodging listing, the destination was set. In the midst of brilliant fall color, we knocked on the door and were accepted as walk-ins and for one night (not always possible.) If we had not already been booked in another city, an additional night at The Yellow House would have been a delight. We walked in to a big beautiful parlor set with wines and culinary treats. The host, Shaun left these goodies a bit longer than usual so that we could enjoy. He gave us a tour of the beautiful home, and explained that we should "make ourselves at home" with beverages, cookies, even cereal for a late night hunger raid if needed. We went upstairs to our generously sized room, containing plenty of reading material, beverages in the frig and robes. After a bit we went out to a favorite Italian restaurant in Waynesville. Returning, we served ourselves port, cookies and biscotti.
Breakfast was at 9:00 served with a choice - on the porch, in our room or in the dining room. We chose meeting the guests around a very big dining table. A breakfast feast was presented and the wonderful treat of meeting so many interesting, friendly people was enjoyed as well. I highly recommend the pleasure of staying at the Yellow House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and as a young couple we had no idea what to expect. Our stay at The Yellow House was a graduation gift from me to my boyfriend and I don't think our 2 nights at The Yellow House could have been more perfect. Shawn and his staff were wonderful; there when you needed them or had questions about the area (where to go, what to eat, what to see) but gave you the privacy you desired. The home itself is beautiful, tucked away in Waynesville (so quaint!) with plenty to do and see. Visiting in June was a gorgeous time of year to visit, so green and full of life. We even heard an elk bugling! We truly cherish the memories we made at our stay at The Yellow House and hope to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Paul de Vence Suite which is located downstairs, separated from other rooms. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Yellow House and we took our best friends. We loved interacting with the other guests during wine & cheese hour and the fantastic breakfasts on the front porch. As always, Shawn and his staff were wonderful - and we love Waynesville.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Yellow House is a very special place to visit for a quiet and delightful getaway. It is conveniently located to many attractions in western North Carolina, and just far enough off the beaten path to be removed from the hustle. It will serve you equally well as a base camp for visiting the attractions or just retreating into solitude. Shawn is an excellent host, and the house is delightful. We stayed in one of the lower priced rooms, and found it exceptionally well appointed and comfortable, while retaining its age and beauty from an earlier time. I'm sure it only gets better from there. The breakfasts were outstanding. We will surely return if the opportunity comes. The Yellow House is highly recommended in every way.

Columbia, SC

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the parking lot into the trees and we enjoyed that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland fk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Shawn Bresnehan sets the tone for this marvelous 1880's? house in the mountains of Waynesville NC. People are encouraged to mix and mingle, and the atmosphere is very social and friendly. The grounds are wooded and scenic, and the leaves were magnificent this October.
It is a good value with a delicious breakfast included, with clean spacious rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Yellow House was highly recommended by some good friends and we must admit our stay went above and beyond our best expectations. We stayed in the Savannah Suite and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The location of this B&B was ideal as we never ventured more than 30 miles to any of the areas we visited. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed the social time meeting other guests at these breakfasts and the wine & cheese events each evening. Shawn, the innkeeper could not have been more accommodating during our stay and was very helpful in directing us to the many attractions in the area during the day and several fine restaurants at night. This was our first time to the Yellow House but it will not be our last!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Address: 89 Oakview Drive, Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.