We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minication” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant to your Saves list
Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
94 East Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Weirton, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Minication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I and two close friends scratched another trip off of our bucket list and had a delightful time at warm and friendly B&B at the same time. We drove from northern West Virginia to the beautiful Smokey Mountains in search of a Christmas experience at the Biltmore Estate. We found the deal on Living Social and the Herren House is a short drive from the estate. We were extremely pleased with the warm and welcoming experience at the Herren House. Michelle was a superb hostess from the time that we entered until the time that we left. The house was originally set up as a bording house so it is designed to make the occupants comfortable. Downtown Waynesville is an experience all of its own. It is a quaint little town with a beautiful main street and excellent restaurants and shops. The breakfasts at the Herren House was worth the trip. Michelle is a trained chef and it shows. If you are in the neighborhood of Waynesville, NC, do yourself a favor and swing by the Herren House and spend a night or three......Thanks Michelle we had a great time.......

Room Tip: I think that you will have a hard time finding a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am so glag you enjoyed you minivaca at the Herren House...I have to agree downtown shopping is wonderful.......We realy hope you will join us again this year. Keep an eye for upcoming specials
Happy New Year
Michelle and phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
112
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a girls weekend getaway at the Herron House. The house is beautiful and Phil and Michelle were gracious hosts. The rooms are comfortable and being within walking distance of downtown was a plus. The food was amazing. There are so many little touches throughout the Inn that make you feel pampered. I would highly recommend the Herron House to anyone looking for a family, couple or friend get away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Kelly. We are so happy you and the Girls had a fun time. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us...I really enjoyed meeting you all and getting to know you all better....I will look for your return in 2013.
Have a great Christmas and a Happy New Year
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having stayed in many B&B's over our 45 years of marriage, we rate Herren House one of the best! The warm hospitality, great accomodations, yummy breakfasts, afternoon cookies & wine, beautiful gardens and short walking distance to downtown Waynesville, NC can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for a great review..It is so good to know we are up there with other great B&Bs in your book.....We hope you will return someday soon
Happy Holidays to you both
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We discovered the Herren House Bed & Breakfast on Living Social in search of a place to stay for our 1st Anniversary celebration. We had a fantastic experience! We stayed in the Jessica room, which contained a rich bedroom suite and was filled with hues of green and yellow. Attached was an adorable bathroom with a relaxing blue theme. It felt like home. Michelle was extremely welcoming and a fabulous cook! It is now a wonderful memory. We hope to visit again one day!

Room Tip: The Jessica room contained a vintage tug and overlooked the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you Chelsea, We are so happy you found us too. I hope we can make more memories for you in the future.....I love the Jessica room to it is so peaceful and a great bed too.
Have a great holiday season and hope to see you a gain
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a family dinner for 12 to celebrate a special birthday at Herren House. We all were most pleased. I had never been to Waynesville so worked with Michelle via telephone and email. She was great to work with before, during and after to make sure everything went like we planned and it did. Our server Margaret did an excellent job, available but not intrusive. The food was excellent as we had salmon picatta, steaks (cooked two different ways, both just right) and a chicken dish. The palor where we gathered and the dining room were both well decorated, lots of attention to detail. There was no outside noise. There was ample parking behind the House. The House itself is down a side street in downtown Waynesville so is most convenient.

Again, many thanks to Michelle and her staff for a great evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much Jim...It was very easy to work with you too. I am so happy you all enjoyed your dinner. Your guests where a pleasure to have here.....I hope we can do more parties for you in the future
Have a wonderful Hoilday season
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I will forever remember my fourth anniversary as the best time I've had in my life. I cannot express enough how much I genuinely enjoyed myself. The bed was so comfortable and we actually got 8 hours of sleep each. The bathroom was perfect; the heat comfort zone, the bathtub, the hot water was EXACTLY what I needed after all of our outdoor activities. Michelle's Berry Pancakes were AWESOME!!! The cookies in the jar were the best. My husband and I re-kindled/re-connected and fell in love all over again. We will be coming back. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The window in the bathroom of the Lucile Room provides a breathtaking sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Well you just made my day with your review....We are so happy your found each other again in our home.........making memories for our guests are so important....I hope you will return for your 5th anniversay.
Have a wonderful hoiday season
Best regards
Michelle and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I got the living social deal to stay here because I wanted to stay in a B&B when I came to the Asheville area for a wedding. This house is absolutely beautiful and it's obvious how much thought went into all the little details. Michelle (the owner) is fabulous and you can tell she loves what she does here. Also, the food is amazing!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle b, Owner at Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.....we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your long trip home was a safe one. We look forward to seeing you again
Happy Holidays
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant

Address: 94 East Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from one of the most charming NC mountain towns in the Smokies, Herren House is the closest B&B to the downtown Waynesville shopping district offering antique shops, art galleries, crafts, gifts, furniture, clothing, shoes, coffee shops and restaurants. Herren House combines Victorian charm with a casual elegance, reminiscent of an inn in bygone years for travelers needing a break from a more hectic pace. This unique 19th-century Inn has been completely restored and offers all the modern conveniences that will make your stay extremely comfortable and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herren House Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.