We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and wonderful choices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sweet Onion

The Sweet Onion
39 Miller St., Waynesville, NC 28786
828-456-5559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome food and wonderful choices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Wow. Our party of 6 had bacon wrapped monkfish, blueberry glazed shortribs, wild mushroom ravioli and seared ahi, and everyone was totally satisfied. We have eaten here before and the food is always top notch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    162
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't Go Wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our first trip to Waynesville included a late dinner at The Sweet Onion, thanks to YELP. What a great choice. My husband and I shared the pan fried trout and the meatloaf - - wrapped in bacon and served with onion gravy. Friendly staff and timely service. We ate every bite! Kids enjoyed the chicken tenders (surprise) and the chicken park sandwich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Got to try the chicken parmesan sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Best sandwich ever - the lemon aioli - yes, that's right lemon aioli! on a chix parm sandwich is inspired. I had to buy a jar full to take home and put it on everything- fish, salads, etc. It is great on almost any dish. And the side dish of tomatoes and cucumbers was perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I live in Waynesville and dine out regularly and The Sweet Onion is one of my favorite restaurants. The food and service have remained consistently good and the food is reasonably priced. The braised short rib is one of my favorite dishes and the garlic mashed potatoes are sinfully good. The kitchen is open to the main part of the restaurant and you can watch the chefs prepare your food. There is a smaller dining area away from the kitchen if you like a more private atmosphere. They have a good selection of alcoholic drinks and desserts. The Sweet Onion is one of my regular restaurants and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've liked everything I've tried. The service is good and efficient as well as friendly. My only complaint is that it is so noisy. I have a hard time relaxing and savoring the food because the background noise is disturbing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Onion also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Sweet Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sweet Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.