We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to Dinner at the Sweet Onion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sweet Onion

The Sweet Onion
39 Miller St., Waynesville, NC 28786
828-456-5559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look forward to Dinner at the Sweet Onion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This Bistro has captured the classic blue plate special like meatloaf with a twist... such as Shrimp and Grits. Something for everyone!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    162
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I had the best meal of the trip here. I had the fried chicken which was smoked and then battered and fried to finish. Best fried chicken. My wife's Weiner schnitzel was tender and very tasty. The staff was wonderful. Everyone we asked spoke very highly of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall, we had a great experience. The environment was very good and inviting.
Food was delicious. We were going to arrive after closing, but called in advance to let them know, and they waited for us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of Waynesville's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved our meals and the street corner ambiance. Plus, kudos to the staff for accommodating a move to a recently vacated booth. My wife loved her trout, and my short ribs were tender and had a great sauce. Also, met some nice folks from the West Coast who were having a mother/daughter get together.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On a whim my significant other and I decided to go out to eat and searched trip advisor for a place in Waynesville. We saw The Sweet Onion and to be honest, the photos of the Chicken fried stake reeled us in. Once we arrived we were greeted by a smiling face and after a short wait, we were seated at our table. Our waitress was very kind, and attentive, but the food was outstanding. The atmosphere was amazing as well, very cozy and personal. We felt closed off but we also had the opportunity to enjoy the scenery both inside and out. If you're on the fence about this place, don't be, it's a worthy dining experience and we will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Onion also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Sweet Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sweet Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.