We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location in Waynesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar

Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar
1374 Sulphur Springs Road, Waynesville, NC 28786
828-456-8945
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #23 of 93 restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner
East Tennessee
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“New location in Waynesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Maggies Galley during the last weekend that they were open in the location that is covered by the Tripadvisor reviews. Maggies Galley was forced to relocate due to road improvements taking the property. It is indeed a shame as the old cabin that housed the restaurant was made up of 3 log cabins that had all been moved and restacked at the present location. The charm of the cabins was indeed a large part of the enjoyment of the venue. Classic log cabins with stone fireplaces. Progress for road improvements has it's cost.
The new location for Maggie's Galley is a short distance west on Hwy 276 just past the underpass of Hwy 23/74 and on the left in a shopping plaza.

That said, our food was good, the service was good and the prices were reasonable. Good family, friends or date venue. Really good seafood for the area. Delivered a couple of times each week.
We will return and try out the new location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    51
    31
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not sure what is going on with this place but appears to be out of business.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We loved eating at this place when we come up to the moutains. They had the best seafood around and very good service. It was very rustic looking on the outside but supernice on the inside. However, it appears to be out of business. The parking lot was empty which never has happened before. We tried calling them and their number was no longer in business. They did not close before for winter so it is a shame to see that they closed their doors. We are keeping our fingers crossed that maybe someone will reopen it and have same quality of food and service. Its a shame that the good places to stay and eat at are all out of business in maggie valley and waynesville.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Who woulda thought?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was recommended by the hotel and she told us don't pay attention to the outside. You may not have visited had it not been recommended.
Well, the inside is rustic but very clean. The waitstaff is very personable and the food was great. The four of us all had seafood and all enjoyed......blackened scallops, blacked sampler, shrimp and flounder. Blackening is REALLY warm and they warn you ahead of time. I love hot food and would have it again. Prices are reasonable, too. They do not take reservations and it did get crowded even though it was the eveing that "Sandy" came through.
Who woulda thought that you could get such good seafood that far from the "sea"?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, nc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overall a good seafood stop for seafood lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Normally would give this place very high ratings, but we ate there on an off night. My oysters, although tasty, needed to be fried more. Wife;s stuffed flounder had a funky taste. Still would recommend this place and will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“"Looking for seafood & glad we came!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband & I recently visited this restaurant for the first time on our weekend in Waynesville. We passed this restaurant numerous times and wasn't sure what it was but ALWAYS saw a lot of cars parked out front. We went for dinner and was escorted by a very friendly hostess to a table in the side room by the bar. We ordered some draft beers along with the popcorn shrimp and sides of twice-baked potatoes, slaw and hush puppies. Ymmmmm!! GREAT CHOICE!! The waitress was very friendly and gave us an updated history on the restaurant and its location.
The restaurant was attractively decorated and the ladies room was located behind the Elvis Presley Blvd. sign. The restroom was decorated with all types of Elvis memorabilia...which I loved!!
We were in search of some seafood while visiting Waynesville and this place did not disappoint one bit and we will definitely visit again and again when in town. We were told they will no longer be at this location after November 5, 2012 when they will be moving over close to
Wal-mart in Waynesville. Glad I was told, because we will be looking forward to eating here again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.