We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good seafood stop for seafood lovers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar

Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar
1374 Sulphur Springs Rd, Waynesville, NC 28786
+1 828-456-8945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 97 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: "What great seafood!" We hear that all of the time and we are thankful to our diners. Great seafood in the Great Smoky Mountains of Western North Carolina just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Come join us at our new location just off of the Great Smoky Mountain Expressway (US Hwy 23) and see what everyone is talking about. From our full bar including beer and wine to appetizers, delicious entrees, and our house-made desserts, we are proud to serve you with our courteous wait staff in comfortable dining. We serve weekday lunch specials, and our full menu every evening and weekends with a special Sunday brunch.
greensboro, nc
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overall a good seafood stop for seafood lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Normally would give this place very high ratings, but we ate there on an off night. My oysters, although tasty, needed to be fried more. Wife;s stuffed flounder had a funky taste. Still would recommend this place and will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    46
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“"Looking for seafood & glad we came!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband & I recently visited this restaurant for the first time on our weekend in Waynesville. We passed this restaurant numerous times and wasn't sure what it was but ALWAYS saw a lot of cars parked out front. We went for dinner and was escorted by a very friendly hostess to a table in the side room by the bar. We ordered some draft beers along with the popcorn shrimp and sides of twice-baked potatoes, slaw and hush puppies. Ymmmmm!! GREAT CHOICE!! The waitress was very friendly and gave us an updated history on the restaurant and its location.
The restaurant was attractively decorated and the ladies room was located behind the Elvis Presley Blvd. sign. The restroom was decorated with all types of Elvis memorabilia...which I loved!!
We were in search of some seafood while visiting Waynesville and this place did not disappoint one bit and we will definitely visit again and again when in town. We were told they will no longer be at this location after November 5, 2012 when they will be moving over close to
Wal-mart in Waynesville. Glad I was told, because we will be looking forward to eating here again!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I highly recommend Maggie's Galley. I was not expecting such quality seafood in a mountain resort town. The food was every bit as delicious as the seafood you find in coastal locations. The seafood chowder was thick and full of clams, shrimp, and crab. The coconut shrimp were large and tender with a light batter of coconut. ...outstanding. The prices were very reasonable and about half the price of what you would find on the coast. The service was professional and very southern friendly! The atmosphere was full of charm in an old log cabin with memorabilia on the walls. I understand they are moving to a new location and I only hope they continue with this rustic charm otherwise Maggie's Galley will loose a piece of itself.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, GA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Enjoyed oysters and grilled grouper. Oysters were plump and lightly breaded. Grouper was the "lite" portion but large enough to be filling. Unusual building which makes this restaurant an adventure. Loved the old cabins.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant is a real surprise - and a great one at that. I am glad we arrived in the early afternoon, because it looks like they might be a little light on the available parking when this place gets busy.
We had the raw oysters as an appetizer. No sand, no pieces of shell, just some great eating.
The coconut shrimp was outstanding. Some of the largest shrimp I have seen for awhile. We recently ate at a seafood restaurant in Lady's Island, SC and their shrimp were nowhere near this size.
Service as wonderful also.
Be sure and get a bottle of their hot sauce when you leave! A great take home reminder of tasty dinner in the mountains of NC.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's Galley Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.