We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef's Table

Chef's Table
30 Church Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
+1 828-452-6210
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was a spontaneous decision and I am glad we ventured in. We didn't expect to be seated (party of 3) as it was after 10pm on New Year's Eve. However, we were welcomed and seated at the bar, which was perfect as we could watch Josh vigorously shaking frying pans in the kitchen. He was totally in charge and remained undisturbed when the new orders came in. Farm-to-table concept is harvested by all your senses thanks to many ingredients on your plate that come directly from Josh's farm. He knows his produce, treats it with respect and the final result is a perfect dish. His portions are plentiful and good for sharing for those who are not starving. We were impressed with the sauces that accompanied our dishes. My husband had pork belly which was outstanding in terms of preparation but the sauce was by far the highlight. Simple and complex at the same time, reduced to perfection. I had freshly made pasta (they make it fresh daily) and wild turkey sausage. The fried brie salad was an excellent starter. I would say this restaurant is better than many top rated restaurants in Asheville and deserves special attention during your visit to Waynesville. For all those who are reading negative comments from people who didn't get in... Like any business this place survives by making money. It is quite small and has limited seating. Do not expect to be seated after being 20 minutes late, especially during busy season. That wouldn't be fair to the rest of us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    52
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Waynesville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Chef's Table. And wonderful service. The risotto balls were the best I have ever tasted.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holy Crap.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I ate here on a Friday night. Every single thing we ate tasted FANTASTIC. From the red pepper hummus with bread to the final bite of our entree, everything was top notch. We have never had everything taste so consistently good before at a restaurant (including our travels in Europe and the Caribbean). We had risotto goat cheese balls for our appetizer, which were to die for. The best thing we ate might have been the pears & blue cheese salad. Out of this world! The homemade pasta was delicious, as was the seared tuna. The restaurant smelled so good and we loved how you can see the chefs at work in the kitchen. Will definitely be back!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We've dine at Chef's Table many times and thought the food was excellent. Dine there recently and both mine and my husbands was sub standard. I will say the salad was good. A grilled wedge served with warm balsamic vinegar. I ordered a creamy pasta dish which turned out to be very watery. If the pasta (this pasta) is home made, what's the fuss. I wasn't impressed. My husband ordered a pan sheared fish and it smelled very fishy when it was brought to the table and had heavy breading on it. Please oh please, not another favorite of ours that bites the dirt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Montana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Well respected chef providing excellent food in Waynesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Chef's Table is the best of the 10 restaurants we've dined at in Waynesville. The service was excellent, the wine list well-rounded and the food exceptional. Every course was a delight. Excellent ambiance and just an over-all delightful dining experience.

They also have some nice deals on some takeaway wine. We purchased a 2002 double magnum on our way out that turned out to be excellent.

We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Table also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.