We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pisgah Inn Restaurant

Pisgah Inn Restaurant
408 Blue Ridge Parkway, Waynesville, NC 28786
(828) 235-8228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Reservations
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overdue Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Trillion Dollar View
Million Dollar Service
Two Dollar Dining
We dined at the Inn twice this year, once in June and the last in September.
The drive up from Asheville is beautiful with little peeks of the mountains as you climb. Once at the top you can see it all. The restaurant at Mt Pisgah Inn truly has a Trillion Dollar view, on a clear day you can see for miles and you feel like you’re on top of the world.
The service was great, minimal wait times and seated in the time promised.
Great looking menu and a surprisingly good wine and beer list.
The let down both times was the food itself. Either over cooked or under seasoned.
The pot pie was bland and had a fish bone it it. The pork chop was a hard as shoe leather.
The fried green tomatoes this fall were really good... the second time the manager brought them out... too cold the first time.
Too bad the kitchen could not live up to the promise of the menu.
We were looking for a place to hold a medium sized reception for my parents who live in Asheville and love the Blue Ridge Mountains, While the food did not sell us on the Inn the staff did.
We talked with Barbara R and she suggested a wine and cheese reception with some hot appetizers that she promised she would check before they came out of the kitchen. The price for 30 people was reasonable and we will be contacting her in the spring to set it up.
So a great view and the manager Barbara sold us on the venue

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    120
    40
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
240 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Must-See Views, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Pisgah Inn Restaurant on the Blue Ridge Parkway is only open between May and the end of October. It has a rustic theme featuring metal rhododendron chandeliers and walls of glass which offer sweeping views of the surrounding mountains. It is an older, simpler construction--nothing fancy. This is a special place where locals usually go at least once during its open season, especially if they have guests from out of town. The dress code is casual. There is a gift shop next to the restaurant where you can browse while waiting featuring Biltmore Estate wines, locally made crafts such as pottery and jewelry, books, toys, sweatshirts and t-shirts, stained glass items, and postcards, etc.

The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner due to being part of the Pisgah Inn. We have had lunch and dinner there but not breakfast. The restaurant does not take reservations. If you arrive at 5 pm for dinner, you can expect to wait in a crowd of people for quite awhile until the dining room fills up. There is a small deck outside the restaurant where a cash bar is set up with limited selections of beer and wine if you'd like some while you wait. Service is SLOW, so don't go there when you're in a hurry or have any deadlines to meet. You will most likely not see your server often, so be sure to ask for whatever you need when you do see him.

Thankfully, the food is good. Our favorites include the Fried Green Tomato appetizer, Parmesan Peppercorn salad dressing, mountain trout, Pisgah Pasta, and French silk pie. We have also had a key lime pie there with a macadamia nut crust that is really good. The apple dumpling and coffee are disappointing. The coffee is bitter and way too strong. I don't mean Starbucks strong, I mean that it is just bad.

By the way, the elevation at Mt. Pisgah is higher than the surrounding areas in Waynesville, Brevard, Hendersonville, and Asheville, so that means it can be chilly or cold there even in the summer in the mornings or evenings. Be sure to take a warm jacket even if it's warm before you go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beatuful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been viviting this area for many years and the location and the beauty are amazing. The inn is always bustling with visitors looking to stretch their legs or wanting to get something to eat. Well you have picked a great place to do both. The food is very good and the view never stops just amazing, with all of the history that surrounds this area it is a great place to visit and spend some time on the hiking trails.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Place of Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We always try to stop by the Inn for lunch when we are driving the Blue Ridge. It has a dining room with a wall of windows to see the beautiful view. Fall is one of my favorite times as you can see all the colorful leaves. This year, hurricane Sandy crashed against a winter storm and so there was snow on the Blue Ridge at the end of October. We drove up to the Inn to see the snow covered trees and discovered that they had decided 3 hours earlier that morning to close up, a week early due to the storm. The manager, however, took us in and fed us a wonderful lunch, hot soup and all. That is the way to develop loyalty!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fall and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Pisgah Inn Restaurant is located on the Blue Ridge Parkway in Western NC. We went to view the fall leaves but got an additional treat there. I had the baked chicken with collard greens and pumpkin bisque. My husband got bratwurst with German potato salad and saurkraut. We both had their delicious yeast rolls. The baked chicken was seasoned and cooked just right. My husband's bratwurst was good but the potato salad wasn't quite as good as it should have been and the saurkraut tasted like it was taken directly from a can, heated and served. Our waiter was very courteous, efficient, and attentive and the views of the mountains at 5,000 feet was magnificent. All in all it was a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisgah Inn Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisgah Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.