We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$10-$15/Day Off 3Day Stay
Ranked #3 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are an Australia couple travelling through the southern states of the US and we really enjoyed our stay at The Windover and the wonderful people we met over the breakfast table during our stay.
Ian and Jan
Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
86
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first time in a B&B. I am glad we choose The Windover Inn. Glenn and Jen are very nice couple. They help you in everything they can. We spend a night in this B&B and we wish to stay more. We have seen several B&Bs on the tripadvisor site. However, The Windover Inn is the best. Very good job folks !

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Previous reviews are spot-on. Beautiful house, sumptuous bedding, congenial hosts, lovely breakfast room, inviting grounds with porch swing in gazebo and campfire ring, spotlessly clean, convenient location. My favorite room is The Atlantic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in April 6 to the 12th It was such a fantastic stay. My husband works in the hotel industry and he was so impressed by Jenn and Glenn's level of service. They are always available to answer questions and assist in any way possible. They are also so knowledgeable about the area, and planned a day hike for us, complete with such detailed directions. Not only was the level of service exceptional the food was out of this world. I have gluten issues, and Jenn and Glenn were more than happy to offer me a gluten free option while my husband was able to enjoy the regular. Their scones are so fantastic, and everything is so fresh. The rooms are also perfect, very spacious and the large king size bed doesn't hurt at all. Even though Waynesville is very small there are many things to do in town. It is also only 30 mins from Ashville. We were going to stay in Asheville, but glad we decided on Waynesville. It was so quiet and a great relaxing time. There are many restaurants in Waynesville. Our favorites were Chef's table, and Leap Frog's. We already started planning on our next visit. If you want the best place to stay in Waynesville and Asheville make it the Windover Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I think we have been to the Windover 5 times now. We love that the owners make us feel like family from the first "hello", to the last "good bye". Even better, Jen & Glenn remember you when you re visit their home. For those people who are fearful that they will feel as if they are intruding in on someone else's home, you need not worry. Once you check in and get the tour, you're given your room key and front door key. You won't be bothered at all unless you need help (I mean any help!!!). Jen & Glenn are there for what ever you need. Breakfast was great both days we stayed. Second day we had to leave early (breakfast is at 9) so we asked for something to go - they sent us off with muffins, bananas, egg & cheese sandwiches, orange juice, yogurt, & hot coffee! Talk'en about the royal treatment! Just Amazing how above & beyond they go. I'd say we'll be back again, but I guess you already know that from my review.

About the area that the Windover is in- there's a very active downtown area with shopping, craft and art galleries galore. Great dining options (Jen & Glenn are happy to provide suggestions!) and even a furniture gallery with a coffee/ sweet bar. Yes odd- but once you see it you'll get it...
The Biltmore estate is not far, and you can get a reduced price for admittance through the Windover. We like to check in at the Windover, then head to the biltmore by 4 pm. Get to the biltmore gatehouse at 4 but before 4:30. The approach road to the house closes at 4:30, and the house closes at 5. But once you get in, you can enjoy all the outdoor gardens until dusk, then return on day 2 using the same tickets to see inside the house. Admittance after 4 pm gets you Back in next day for free! Take a picnic dinner on the first night and find a romantic place on your own to dine. Just a great experience!
Thanks to Jen & Glenn for everything. The Windover is a Gem!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose this B & B in an online search for a spring break get away. We arrived rather late and needed help finding the inn so we called and Glenn directed us over the phone and he and his wife met us outside in the cold to greet us and help us carry our things to the third floor! Wow! The service, wonderful breakfasts, and cleanliness were over the top! We especially enjoyed the always available coffee. Having to leave early on our last morning, Jen and Glenn sent us on our way with a hearty and delicious bag breakfast! Next time we would choose a larger room....overall a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisnton Salem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I found this B&B on the internet last spring. We get very few chances to get away with out our young children, but this place is worth it! We enjoyed ourselves so much last spring that we managed to squeeze in a return visit for a weekend getaway this winter. Glenn and Jen are always ready to serve with a smile. We wondered if it would be "strange" to stay in somebody's home but they create a comfortable relaxed environment that had us coming back for a second stay. The rooms are so very comfortable and the food is so good. We always notice the sanitation grades and they had an excellent grade. We are so stuffed from breakfast every day that we don't usually even need lunch! The town has much to offer in the way of shopping, art, hiking and other outdoor recreation. Of course, our room was so comfortable that we opted to cozy up most of the weekend and watch the snow. Beautiful. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.