We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Wisnton Salem
1 review
“Best B&B Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I found this B&B on the internet last spring. We get very few chances to get away with out our young children, but this place is worth it! We enjoyed ourselves so much last spring that we managed to squeeze in a return visit for a weekend getaway this winter. Glenn and Jen are always ready to serve with a smile. We wondered if it would be "strange" to stay in somebody's home but they create a comfortable relaxed environment that had us coming back for a second stay. The rooms are so very comfortable and the food is so good. We always notice the sanitation grades and they had an excellent grade. We are so stuffed from breakfast every day that we don't usually even need lunch! The town has much to offer in the way of shopping, art, hiking and other outdoor recreation. Of course, our room was so comfortable that we opted to cozy up most of the weekend and watch the snow. Beautiful. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
92
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greer, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Upon entering Glenn and Jen met us with a smile! They explained how things work, Glenn gave us a map of downtown Waynesville with highlighted restaurants. He showed us the living room where fresh cookies are availalbe (menus for the downtown restaurants and many books and board games) dining room, and our beautiful room. Glenn explained snacks would be served between 5:00 and 6:00 p.m. We had a two room suite, Pacific room which has two fireplaces, hot tub and dorm refrigerator on the second floor. There was bottled water in the fridge and some chocolate in a nice candy dish. It was really beautiful and attention to every detail. Bed was very comfortable with enough blankets. Breakfast was served in our room and it was delicious. We had an omlettee, ham, yogurt, scone, orange juice. It was served on china. They have coffee, tea, and microwave popcorn in the hallways of the floor your staying on. The coffee is organic and was delicious too! I would like to suggest that they need to put a candle snuffer in the room for the candlelite fireplaces. When I return to Waynesville, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: For a special occassion, get a two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Found this little B&B via word of mouth. Came for a short weekend with my girlfriend, and we had a wonderful time. Suite was fantastic, and the service was top notch. Great dinners within easy walking distance, and breakfast was some of the best french toast I've ever had. Short drive to Asheville, NC or to the Smokies. The proprietors, Glenn and Jenn made the weekend spectacular. Will come back again, hopefully, soon. R.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The thing about staying at a B&B is that you get to know the owners. Glenn & Jen out did themselves in helping us celebrate our 33rd Anniversary & my birthday. I gave them a budget, a couple of suggestions about flowers & chocolate and we arrived to beautiful bouquet of roses, champagne on ice and divine chocolates. The room was charming with a wonderful jacuzzi tub. They even thoughtfully provided book lights and candles. My husband and I spent many long hours on the huge front porch just relaxing, reading and enjoying the rain. We explored the Biltmore Estate and the drive from Windover was beautiful. Plan to stay several days. We stayed 5 and loved every minute. There are several great restaurants in town and Glenn & Jen are a lot of help in selecting the right one for you.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Talk to Jen about what you envision and she'll set you up in the right room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I decided to try out the Windover Inn for our birthdays, around Christmas, and we could not have made a better decision! The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas; from the moment you arrive, Glen and Jenn treat you like royalty. Freshly baked cookies and hot apple cider greeted us upon arrival. We stayed in the Garden Estate Room, complete with a very large jacuzzi tub in the room! Glen and Jenn do not miss any details; each floor has organic coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and popcorn for guests. Our room had delicious freshly baked gingerbread men as well! After a cozy night's sleep in our VERY comfortable bed, we awoke to the smell of freshly brewed coffee and breakfast from below. The food was FANTASTIC and Glen and Jenn are extremely hospitable! We loved relaxing on the beautiful grounds, in the beautiful gazebo, and on the gorgeous front porch. We also had breakfast on the porch for our last day, something we highly recommend! We cannot wait to come back!!

Room Tip: The Garden Estate Room is farther from the other rooms because of its location on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a one-night stay somewhere near Asheville, and stumbled upon all the glowing reviews of the Windover Inn on Trip Advisor. It was very surprising how hard it was to find a place that did not have a 2-night minimun (and we didn't want to be away from our daughter more than overnight). We booked our stay based on the reviews and were not disappointed! We stayed in the Smokey Mountain Suite and it was huge!

The owners were very friendly without being over-bearing and the house and rooms were beautiful! The breakfast was very good (somehow my husband even ate the yogurt in his fruit parfait)! The breakfast was served in the home's dining room. Unlike most of the other B&B's we have stayed at, guests are expected to share their tables with other couples. We are not especially social people, but found that we really enjoyed talking with the other guests, who were mostly other couples getting a night or two away from the kids.

Really enjoyed everything about the Windover Inn and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent weeks comparing reviews and looking for an affordable B&B and let me tell you, we struck gold with this place! We stayed in the Pacific sweet and it was very spacious, two rooms to be exact. It had a Jacuzzi bath, two fireplaces and the most comfortable bed I have slept in in years. Jen and Glen were very friendly and pleasant and were never making us feel out of place. Breakfast was also super delicious. Will definitely be going back for all of our Asheville stays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.