We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a B&B is all about!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$10-$15/Day Off 3Day Stay
Ranked #4 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is what a B&B is all about!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the friendly innkeepers, to the comfortable beds, to the inviting front porch this B&B hits a home run. My wife and I enjoy staying in B&B's and this one is in our top few. We will be back to Waynesville, if only to stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful home with the perfect front porch for relaxing. The Windover Inn exceeded my expectations. I cannot stress enough how clean this house is! The innkeepers, Glenn and Jennifer are welcoming and attentive. I wasn't able to stay for breakfast as my schedule had me leaving the house everyday before breakfast was served in the dining room. No problem for Glenn and Jennifer however. They packed me a delicious "to-go" breakfast. Yum! Will definitely be back the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was by far the best place we have ever stayed at. The rooms were impeccable, absolutely gorgeous and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Glenn and Jennifer (I dubbed them Glennifer) were so kind and accommodating and there are not enough words to express the deliciousness of the breakfasts they prepared. Fresh fruit, home made scones that were to die for, waffles, quiche, fritatta's...you name it, they made it. I cannot wait to return! Thank you Glenn and Jennifer, you made our trip that much more special!

Carrie and Pete

Room Tip: All of the rooms are gorgeous, but we were fortunate to get one with a jacuzzi and used it EVERY nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Want to get away to a charming spot with sheer unadulterated beauty surrounding you? This is the place. The innkeepers were so sweet and welcoming. The inn is SPOTLESS and nothing is out of place anywhere. The breakfast was off the charts. Beg for the homemade scones. Best I have EVER eaten. You will want to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed overnight at Windover B and B this week, our second visit to this beautiful old home. Jen and Glen are excellent innkeepers -- always friendly, helpful, and caring. Their home is immaculate with comfy beds, quiet surroundings, and superior breakfast. On this Friday morning, we had raspberry swirl yogurt, frittatas (with vegetables and herbs fresh from the garden), ham steak, and muffins. Yummy! Jen even remembered that I am not a coffee drinker and brought juice and ice water without my reminding her! The front porch is a great spot to enjoy an afternoon beverage, the ever-present mountain breeze, and a home-made cookie or cheese wafer, compliments of the house. If a walk around the grounds is on your agenda, you will love the well-kept flower beds and pathways through the garden. The only minus for this always-wonderful place is that guests do not have a view of the mountains, and getting to the house means driving through a working-class neighborhood that is a bit untidy--both of which are completely out of the control of the owners of Windover. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here. We love it and will return as soon as we possibly can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Jen and Glenn are awesome hosts! The place is so beautiful. The front porch is a restful place to sit and read a book. The rooms are each so unique and well maintained. And the FOOOD is deeeelicious!! STAY HERE! STAY HERE!! If you do much happiness will ensue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned home from a really nice time in the mountains of North Carolina. Stayed at the Windover Inn and found it to be very comfortable, quite. and in a perfect locations for waterfall touring and mountain hiking. Glenn and Jen were great and the breakfast each morning was out of this world! Glenn's french toast was to die for!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.