We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10-$15/Day Off 3Day Stay
Ranked #4 of 22 Waynesville B&B and Inns
warrenton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Jen and Glenn are awesome hosts! The place is so beautiful. The front porch is a restful place to sit and read a book. The rooms are each so unique and well maintained. And the FOOOD is deeeelicious!! STAY HERE! STAY HERE!! If you do much happiness will ensue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
79
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned home from a really nice time in the mountains of North Carolina. Stayed at the Windover Inn and found it to be very comfortable, quite. and in a perfect locations for waterfall touring and mountain hiking. Glenn and Jen were great and the breakfast each morning was out of this world! Glenn's french toast was to die for!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We decided to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at a bed and breakfast. The Windover was perfect for us. It was such a relaxing time and the food and amenities first rate! The suggestions for activities and dinner were very helpful. The gardens were lovely and our room was very comfortable. Thank you for making our anniversary a very special one!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Jen and Adam were more than helpful with helping us plan our first venture out of Charlotte and into the mountains. The breakfasts were AMAZING! Rooms were comfortable, quiet, and clean. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the estate garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Right from the start, we knew this was going to be a great experience. I called the Windover to inform them that we'd be late and Jen, one of the proprietors, was less concerned that we'd be late to checking in as she was in making sure we wouldn't arrive too late to get food in town. She was a wealth of information and upon our arrival we were greeted like family. The rooms are beautiful, the decor of the home is warm and inviting, and the food was just to die for. We had to be up super early on our last day there and when we mentioned we would miss the breakfast on that last day, Jen and Glenn offered to make the food early and even bring it to our room if we wanted. There wasn't a ton to do in Waynesville but it wasn't far from a lot of other attractions outside the town and the accommodations MORE than make up for what little driving we had to do. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway and want somewhere that will make you feel like the most important guest in the world, then this is the place to stay at.

Room Tip: All rooms have whirlpool tubs so it's a simple matter of picking the decor you like most. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We have enjoyed each and every trip(3stays) to the Windover Inn and have loved it and every time! It is always a romantic getaway from life and the stress it brings. The Inn is always spotless. The rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The snacks and breakfast dishes are always a A+.We will definitely return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

What a wonderful escape! The entire property was beautiful. I cannot speak enough for the cleanliness! Every single surface throughout our room and the common areas were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and Glenn and Jen (the owners) were so helpful in our planning day trips throughout the region. By the way, stay during the Annual Apple Festival. The town of Waynesville is most charming (as well as convenient to Asheville). I will most definitely return...hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atlantic Room, but I'm sure are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Old Hickory Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list