We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
63 North Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786
828-452-2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Waynesville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
N. Redington Bch.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Unique,old fashioned country store -loaded with nice winter clothing at good prices. Something for everyone.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawkinsville
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You could look forever and not see everything offered. The employees were super friendly. When we visited, an employee was walking around handing out a 25% discount which was an added bonus. I will definitely visit again!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel (Canton), North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice in an old-fashioned way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

No trip to downtown Waynesville is complete without a visit to Mast General store, even if you live nearby. Why? Downstairs there is a fabulous array of sweets available in quantities the customers get to choose. Mast is also the home of beautiful, comfy sweaters, interesting condiments, jellies, and jams, kitchenware, clothing for men, women and children, toys (cool retro ones!), accessories, and so much more. I love the creaky wooden floors, the smell of popcorn, and the friendly staff.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mast Store & More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The store is a must-see if you're in Waynesville. But for me that's really the point--being in Waynesville. I've been living in NC for 13 years and never heard a peep about Waynesville. I just happened to do some searching on Trip Advisor and decided to stop in while in the mountains. What a quaint locale complete with all the little modern touches you want and expect. Good restaurants, lovely chocolate shop, art galleries, small boutiques and then the big one--Mast General Store. It was just fun taking a trip back in my early days with candy, old time toys and just enough to keep you busy for a good hour. I found our restaurant after talking to the employees about what they'd recommend. All in all, Waynesville might be an even better stop than my usual favorite of Asheville and Mast General Store makes it even better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beyond Cool - I could've spent all afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited Waynesville to meet up with cousins ... they told us the Mast General Store was a "must see!"

Three floors of merchandise with something for everyone, we enjoyed the candy barrel. Grab a green bucket and start loading it up with candies you thought were gone forever ... Ended up with three pounds of goodies, from cola filled gummies to clove drops.

Also found some neat gifts for my nephew in the toy section.

They have an incredible selection of outdoor clothing and gear with many of my favorite brands.

Being a Saturday, the store was packed. I'd like to visit again when I have more time.

If you're in the area, put this on your list!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mast General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.